Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-29-2007, 11:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
RO/DI and well water...

I am moving home for a year and a half and my parents have well water. The have a pretty good water softening system and the water out of the faucet is not bad. When i move home i will still have FW fish and wont be getting SW fish until i move again, but i water to get a RO/DI system for my FW fish, and then use it for my SW fish when i move. I have read that well water requires specific parts on a RO/DI unit. i did some surfing and i found this system http://www.spectrapure.com/St_MaxCap-RO-DI.htm Is that good for well water stock? is there another system that i could use? i read that i would have to get a specific type of membrane and would need extra filters and would not really need carbon filters. I want a system i can use on well water and then take with me for city water use in the future thanks for any help/advice.
__________________

__________________
Radioheadx14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 11:15 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I'm on well water and never had a problem with it. Of course, all well water is going to be different. This looks to be a decent RO/DI unit and a little cheaper
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 01:18 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
If you use RO/DI water for your fw fish you need an RO buffer. Never use straight RO water for freshwater fish.

Also, IME (and the reason I don't run RO water in my reef tank) is that RO units will suck the water out of a well FAST! I ran my well dry so many times before I finally just gave up and stopped using it. You may be better off using just well water but that's up to you. Both units are great, I like the price on Scott's much better.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 01:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
hmm, so having FW fish & well water, should i not even use either RO/DI? i plan on getting one when i switch to SW and am back on city tap water. I didnt know if running some extra filtration on well water would be a good idea. I have had FW fish in the well water from my parents house for years, the pH is usually high but i rarely had fish die off. Also i have heard that rainbows like higher pH and i have heard they like lower pH... so i don't know... and i am dreading acclimatizing them from tap->well->tap.

Are there any good articles on well water and fish?
__________________
Radioheadx14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 02:10 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
How about this Article or This Article ?
Basically they say to aerate your well water (24 hours) to get the CO2 out of it.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 02:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
hmm, i know with the well water i will be using, it goes through a softener, so some of the metals will be removed, and we don't have a problem with the sulfer, but sometimes if you leave a glass out, it sometimes turns yellow due to iron.

To those of you who use well water, what do you do? Should i buy some extra filter? just let the water set and aerate it... or something else?
__________________
Radioheadx14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 02:40 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
If I leave water in a glass, it builds up lime and calcium, I think it is those two or just one of them. I premix my water anyways, so I always have extra water. I also have a RO/DI, but didn't have any problems before I had one. Like I said, all wells are going to be different. I'm not sure what's involved in FW well water.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 03:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
ok, thanks, maybe i'll ask some advice on the FW forum... I may have to get a RO/DI unit with a buffer for my freshies
__________________
Radioheadx14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 03:33 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I'll just move it to the general hardware/equipment section. I think you will get better responses there.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:32 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
any more well water people that use RO/DI units?
__________________

__________________
Radioheadx14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.