Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-19-2008, 03:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Wink RO/DI filter question

I am newbie and my tank 75 galon SW reef, it really need RO/DI filter?

Thanks for your helping
__________________

__________________
jennytram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 03:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MsBeanCtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 926
Yes, yes, yes.......an ro/di filter will filter tap water to put into your sw tank. Initially it's a sizeable investment....but very well, worth it.

Ok you SW guru's.....chime in here.
__________________

__________________
If you can't run with the big dogs - stay on the porch! ***Adopt a retired greyhound ***
MsBeanCtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 03:51 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
What are you using now?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 03:55 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
I recommend to say yes! It would be the best investment you could ever give your reef and your fish. I would element all the nasty chemicals that are in Tap water and Well water depending on what your on now. and It will diffinetly help get rid of any algae issue you are having with your tank. I picked up this RO/DI unit and it work great.
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 03:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Does it really need one? No. There are plenty of folks that have successful tanks using dechlorinated tap water.

BUT... in my opinion, if you're going to keep corals, you should have one. Consistancy is the key to success in this hobby, and without a consistant water supply that is also pure, you really don't know what you're putting in your tank. With a RO/DI unit, you have consistantly pure water that you're starting with, and YOU (and your salt manufacturer!) control what goes in it.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 03:58 PM   #6
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Agreed, agreed , agreed. Short of a refract it's the best investment you could make
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 06:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
So, this unit connect to the sump from the water out put, that correct?
__________________
jennytram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:31 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Highly depends on what your tap puts out, which you can test. If you want to be safe then purchase one. I've always used tap, for 10+yrs without problems and only switching to ro/di because of personal preference and not necessity. All systems can either be hooked up directly under the sink (main water line) for automatic reservoir filling (or not) or using a standard aerator adaptor for the faucet, hose, etc. Ro/di's should have the fill line running to a reservoir of some sort and not your aquarium.
__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 11:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
thanks
__________________
jennytram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 07:45 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Most people set their unit up in a location that they can fill containers with pure fresh water. I have mine set next to the floor drain in my basement which is only a few feet from my tank. I fill a 32g trashcan when doing a PWC. I mix my salt in the trashcan with a 660gph pump and after a couple days of mixing I do my water change. I also use my RO/DI unit for top off from evaporation in my reef.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter Question CluelessInNY Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 07-12-2008 03:18 PM
Filter Question KiGrind General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 11-01-2006 12:41 AM
I have a filter question please Bosk General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 04-28-2005 08:09 AM
New QT filter question tmcpeek Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 10-12-2004 07:35 PM
Filter Question Kwenbee General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 03-12-2004 12:11 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.