Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2006, 11:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
RO / DI Help

Hey all,

What is the difference in RO/DI units?

Every unit i've found locally, (Hardware store, and LFS) were RO only units.

The LFS said the DI unit was more trouble then its worth to maintain, and the RO takes out 99.2% of everything in the water.

Most the RO units at the Hardware store only put out less than 20gpd, the unit at the LFS was a coralife RO that put out 24gpd, and was $139, vs $159+ for the units found at the hardware store...

But i've also found 100gpd units on ebay for as little as $105 shipped.

Are all RO units created equal? How are the coralife units?

Thanks,

-TheChad
__________________

__________________
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 11:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
boardsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 823
Go with 6 stage RO/DI unit on ebay from filterdirect. That's what I got for $110. Not a bad deal. It's 110 gallons per hour. I think that's really the info that you're looking for...How many stages it is.


Edit: Do a search on this site regarding RO/DI units. You'll find a TON of info.
__________________

__________________
- Mike
125 gal. reef w sump/refugium & 8-bulb 640w T5's
45 gal fresh w/plants + CPF lighting
boardsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 01:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Do you need a holding tank for the RO/DI system, or can you get water direct from the RO/DI unit?

I will be mounting it under the sink and will have a tap on the top of the sink to retrieve water.

When we mix saltwater, we do it 1g at a time. Just FYI if that matters for my above question..


What's the difference in these 2 units?

1. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

2. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

Thanks,

-TheChad
__________________
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 12:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Holding tank is NOT needed if your only using it for tank water.
The LFS does not know what there talking about.. A RO/DI unit is the best water we can get for our tanks and the membrane does NOT remove phosphates and nitrates so a DI is needed. Maintenance is easy, unscrew housing remove old filter, put new filter in and then screw housing back on. how hard is that... Refilling your own resin is easy also..
I like the units from airwaterice.com. I have the typhoon III and it is a great unit.
a 75 GPD is all you need and is the most efficient when it comes to waste/good water production. there are some good units on ebay, I would get the one that has a housing for the 10" DI resin.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 09:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Quote:
Originally Posted by seaham358
The LFS does not know what there talking about.. A RO/DI unit is the best water we can get for our tanks and the membrane does NOT remove phosphates and nitrates so a DI is needed.
Every RO unit's spec's I have seen all say they remove Nitrates, Depending on the unit I've seen from 92%-99%. I never looked at phosphates..


Which one are you talking about with the housing for the 10" DI Resin??


How about using just a DI system?

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Tap Water Filter System


Thanks,

-TheChad
__________________
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 08:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Can you drink DI water? I am looking at a RO DI system on ebay, it has a Tap for RO water, and a Ball valve for RO+DI Output... Says the ball valve is for dispensing DI Aquarium water, and the Tap is for Dispensing RO drinking water....

Is there a reason why you wouldn't drink DI water?

Thanks...

-TheChad
__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 09:00 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont know if you can drink it or not but I do know you should go with the RO/DI unit and remove 99.9 % on heavy metals and other contaminants.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.