Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-19-2015, 08:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
Ro/di question

So I started my 10g saltwater tank and I have to purchase a system and was wondering I have a 60g cube I'm going to do saltwater so it would need to produce a good bit! I was want to know if when it goes through the system if I could use it for my freshwater tanks to without adding declorintor? I want to just hook it to the sink and hook my python up and set the same temp on the faucet and just run it In my tank instead of filling a bucket up adding declorintor and pouring the bucket in? I don't know if the unit takes out all the bad stuff out like declorintor??

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 09:11 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,319
RO water for freshwater fish is not a good idea. Most of the trace elements and minerals fish need are removed in the process. You could use the RO water if you add some sort of trace elements back into the water like seachems fresh trace or flourish trace.
__________________

__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 02:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
Has anybody came up with a good way to to water changes without pouring water in with buckets?? I hurt my back and cannot pick up heavy stuff

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 02:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 157
Like you said, hook a python to a faucet with the temp right, and just dose the dechlorinator to the tank. I assume you use prime as a dechlorinator when changing water?

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Saekalive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 02:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
I didn't know you could do that! I thought the stuff in the water would hurt my fish before the declorintor worked!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 11:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 157
Oh no, you can double dose prime and it wouldn't hurt the fish. It adds some minerals and other stuff that actually help fish, while dechlorinating the water. It's actually better if you dose the whole tank to prevent any slip ups, if you forget a bucket per say

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Saekalive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 01:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
[QUOTE=Saekalive;3252171]Like you said, hook a python to a faucet with the temp right, and just dose the dechlorinator to the tank. I assume you use prime as a dechlorinator when changing water?

So if I do just run tap water into the tank with my python I would have to dose the whole tank with prime before I add water of course! My question example my tank is 60g so dose it for 60g when i have like a 50% of my water already gone? Will that be ok for my fish? I'm sorry just a little confused


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 02:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 551
I usually dose the qty of water I'm adding. I don't know if that's right.

But dose while you are adding water in, not before.
__________________
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 03:04 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
I usually dose the qty of water I'm adding. I don't know if that's right.

But dose while you are adding water in, not before.

That's what I have always done and never had any issues , like yourself I am not sure if it is correct but it has worked up to this point without any bad results from doing so. I will mix my declornator with some water and add it a little at a time while filling tank.
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 05:38 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,229
As per prime instructions for adding water directly to tank(via "python" waterchanger)dose water conditioner for volume of entire tank.
Not just water replaced.
This is the difference in buckets and water changers besides allowing your water to stabilize by outgassing also when prepped.
I don't use water changers but many who do.
They all dose for tank volume.
__________________

__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question, rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.