Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-24-2006, 10:26 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 438
RO/DI Question

I have been battling hair algae for a while now and I believe it's because I need to change out the filters in my RO/DI unit. I ordered the replacement filters for all 5 stages but was only able to change the DI membrane and Stage 4 right now because I can't get the three large filter compartments open. So if anyone has any insight on how to unscrew them, I would appreciate it.

My main question is . . . which filter in the RO/DI unit filters out Phosphates? I think it is the DI and I am hoping that with these new filters I will be able to get this hair algae under control. The filters were about 10 months old I believe.

Thanks in advance for your input.

tripper
__________________

__________________
tripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 12:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atl, GA
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Feron Send a message via Yahoo to Feron
Hmmm.. came with a wrench didn't it?
I'd say close the in feed and drain the unit as much as possible (open flush and outlet), the water might be creating some sorta vaccuum.

My ro/di is still fairly new, so I havn't had to research the specific filters yet, sry :/
__________________

__________________
Feron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 05:44 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont have mine yet but I think they come with a wrench dont they. Let me know how it turns out.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 05:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 438
I don't think mine came with a wrench. I guess I'll have to go searching for it tonight and see what I come up with. I was hoping a good strong twist would do the trick, but either I am weak, or that's not going to work.

If anyone knows where I could get a spare wrench (assuming I don't find mine), please let me know. I bought my RO/DI from filtersdirect on ebay.

Also, does anyone know if the DI membrane is responsible for removing phosphates from the water?

Thanks!

tripper
__________________
tripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 05:56 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I think you have to have the wrench esp if its stuck because the pressure has to be applied at the top or as close as possible.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 06:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
you can get a wrench from a hardware store like HD or sears, since the housings are standardized with any kind of "whole house" filter

it looks like a giant hollow plastic lollipop
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 07:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
boardsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 823
In reference to your second post, tripper...Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the DI membrane doesn't remove phosphates, rather it just will not allow the phosphates thru the DI membrane. I know, whatever... But yeah, I think it's the DI membrane that's responsible for that.
__________________

__________________
- Mike
125 gal. reef w sump/refugium & 8-bulb 640w T5's
45 gal fresh w/plants + CPF lighting
boardsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heater question and check valve question brigoody General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 11-17-2007 04:34 PM
Stupid question, but...Nitrite/Nitrate question AIKakashi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-11-2006 12:00 PM
Poop question...Gross I know. Wondering. And sleep question Melissamustang Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-23-2006 03:31 PM
Gravel question/ moving question Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-27-2005 08:40 AM
Sump question ... Lighting question. dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 07-27-2003 12:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.