Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-05-2006, 07:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 211
RO DI set up help please

just recieved my Typhoon III RO DI unit. This is my first RO DI, and I am stoked!!!

However, I would like to hook it up directly to a faucet in my upstairs bathroom, (just because that bathroom never gets used) but it did not come with an adapter. I am werry about ordering on off of the net because I do not want to get it in, and have it not fit the faucet.

We are in a rental townhouse.

I am thinking of buying a hose adapter for it, and leaving it outside. It would have to be outside, because this is the only place that I have a hose.

If I go the route to leave it outside, I am planning on buying a "Y" adapter so that I can leave it connected along with my garden hose. I will also buy a small rubber maid container, drill a hole in it to run the hose to the RO DI unit (which will be kept in the rubber maid) and seal it with siclon. I will do that to keep dirt, bugs, etc off the RO DI unit.

A big question that I have is can the RO DI unit be left off? If so, do I need to let it run for awhile again when I am ready to use it to make sure it gets a "good start" with the filtration?

Any other tips, suggestions would be great as I am getting anxious to stop buying water from the LFS.

Thank you!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
-50gal tank
-20gal tall sump / refugium.
-About 15-20 lbs of live rock
-60 lbs (3") of sand.
-2x65w power compact lights
-2x18w power compact in the refug.
-bak pak 2R
-3 LARGE feather dusters all differebt colors
-orange spotted goby
-fire fish
-12 or so hermits
-50-60 nassairus snails
-about 12 turno snails
-emrald crab
supermarvin76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 08:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
I think you should just attach it to the cold water copper pipe on the sink you mentioned. The outside deal sounds complicated and not all that ideal.

I've attached a site and a picture of the the part you need, it's standard for all RO units so it'll fit.


http://www.pwgazette.com/roparts.htm
Attached Images
File Type: jpg svta_197.jpg (19.4 KB, 104 views)
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new 55 all set up crusch Show Off/Photography 5 08-25-2009 01:41 PM
Our New Set Up tdoyle Cichlid Discussion 4 07-07-2008 12:08 PM
All set up, what next? VariableEnigma Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 08-03-2005 08:53 PM
55 gallon set up and 25 gallon set up in coastal nc beachbumin Archive 5 09-19-2004 10:19 PM
Am I set up right? Xenos Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-22-2003 10:04 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.