Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2005, 03:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
RO/DI Top off water

The more I know the less I realize I really do know...

When you add RO/DI water to your tank for topoffs what do you do to prepare it?
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 125
Nothing....just make sure its similar temperature to the tank water.
__________________

__________________
skennelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Since I don't if you have a RODI unit, I will be brief:

RODI unit is connected to your main water supply pipe. Two tubes come out of it. The one that interests us, is for filtered water which you collect in a clean container (READ: Fishies only) and then just pour into your tank as needed. Of course, if the water is too cold, you will have to warm it up a bit. HTH.

8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
*RIGHT* But temperature isn't the only thing severely out of wack with the RO/DI water! Water out of the RO/DI comes with a PH of say... SEVEN! When my tank is up around 8.2! Should we be buffering the water for topoff up to the 8.2? What about airating it if it has been sitting? Seems to me that there might be more involved in this whole top off thing than meets the eye? Lets say I top off once a week and usually put in around 1.5-2g when I top off (into my 120 tank). I've been pouring it out of the jug and into the tank. Suddenly I'm thinking that's not so smart. I'm wondering what the skilled fishkeepers are doing in this regard!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 438
All I do with topoffs is add some dechlorinator and let the water sit for 24 hours. I do not match temperature because I am only adding about 1-2 gallons every 2 days to a 72G tank. As far as PH goes, technically, the water that is evaporating will have the same PH as the RO/DI water. This means that the tank water's PH is rising slightly as the water evaporates and therefor the fresh RO/DI water would pull the PH back down to the apporpriate level. HTH

tripper
__________________
tripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 26
Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe not only does the Reverse Osmosis process remove Chlorine and Chloramine, but it also aerates the water really well. PH and Temperature are the only things I adjust, and even then only if the tank is already stressed for some reason. Otherwise I just dump raw RO/DI right in the sump.

CTA RO membranes remove chlorine/chloramine on their own.
TFC RO membranes must have chlorine/chloramine removed by prefiltering/carbon.
__________________
echoplex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 03:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
I always have 6 jugs full of RO/DI at the ready so it probably isn't so aerated by the time I get to use it. I had read some stuff about people buffering their water prior to adding it, but that looks like it isn't the norm (here at least).
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 03:10 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
I don't do anything to top off water other than brig it to room temp. All thats evaporated is pure water, that's all you should be putting in to replace it, IMO.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 11:52 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 13
Without a RO/DI unit, is this the same water I can buy from the grocery store as distilled? Can I buy that and pour it straight in to top off after evaporation?
__________________
Nim Chimpsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 12:11 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I put mine in a 44 gal container. Then transfer some to 3 5 gal water jugs. I have a top off conatiner that I put 5 or 10 gal of water in. When the float calls for water, it pumps a little in. I don't do anything to the water... it is room temp and don't know what the PH is. I only add a little at a time since the float is calling for water when it needs it. I used to mix my kalk in the top off water.

No dechlor needed in RO/DI water.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water change and water top off idea! sdveirs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 05-17-2005 10:04 AM
top off water???? SALTY72 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-27-2004 05:07 AM
Top-Off Water Aztlan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 03-04-2004 12:22 AM
Top off water TriggerHappy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 11-20-2003 06:11 PM
top off water alrmc4 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 07-05-2003 01:01 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.