Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-12-2009, 07:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
RO/DI unit ?

I just got my RO/DI unit today and have a question. When your done making RO water do you empty the cartridges or leave the residual water in it?
__________________

__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:40 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I leave mine in there.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:41 PM   #3
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
I think you are supposed to leave it in there.
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Thanks guys, BRS didn't indicate what to do in the instructions.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:44 PM   #5
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Well, actually, if anyone did read the manual on one of these things, it says to take everything thing out, empty it all and dry everything off. Leaving the filters in the housing when wet can cause bacteria to grow in there, which would then defeat the purpose of that whole unit to begin with. Bacteria will collect in the housing if water is just left there to sit. I take mine out and dry everything off.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 122
Not what mine says.. Mine says to make sure the membranes remain wet at all times
__________________
All proffered in a IMO, non offensive, nicey nice posting..............IMO
CementShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:59 PM   #7
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Really? So then.. how would you keep it wet at all times? Do you use it 24/7 or something?
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:04 PM   #8
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
From what I've read on various websites it says to keep them wet and don't let them dry out.
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
i keep mine wet never emptied it.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 122
I turn off the feeder valve and walk away


Quote:
Originally Posted by linksyz View Post
Really? So then.. how would you keep it wet at all times? Do you use it 24/7 or something?
__________________

__________________
All proffered in a IMO, non offensive, nicey nice posting..............IMO
CementShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ro/di unit vsnsofadrgn Archive 4 01-23-2007 12:33 PM
ro/di unit scrmom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-19-2006 02:17 PM
RO/DI unit??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-15-2006 05:40 PM
RO unit DI ?? OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-07-2006 08:25 PM
I have an RO unit. Do I really need a DI ? Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-15-2005 11:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.