Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-30-2010, 07:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
RO/DI unit TDS sensor placement

I have a Barracuda RO/DI unit and have also picked up an in line TDS unit. I currently have the inbound sensor placed in the feed line from the tap and the out sensor on the tube taking the product (good) water to my container. I've heard that the in sensor should be placed after the RO Membrane but before the DI unit? Have I got it setup right or wrong?

Thanks...Steve
__________________

__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 08:16 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
depends on what you want to monitor. I have mine setup just like you do, my outbound reads the final product.

Some folks prefer to see how much TDS the RO Membrane is taking out vs what the DI resin is doing. The DI resin will "clean up" whatever's leftover after the membrane, so to speak, so trusting the DI to do it's job some like to monitor the Membrane.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:24 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
You can test your incoming water from the tap (not necessarily from the exact line feeding your unit) so you don't really need one before everything. By placing it after the membrane but before the DI you monitor the water coming out of the membrane which can tell you when to replace the membrane BEFORE your DI has also been used up. If you don't do it this way you will only know when things need to be improved after BOTH the DI and membrane have both been saturated/used up.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
You can test your incoming water from the tap (not necessarily from the exact line feeding your unit) so you don't really need one before everything. By placing it after the membrane but before the DI you monitor the water coming out of the membrane which can tell you when to replace the membrane BEFORE your DI has also been used up. If you don't do it this way you will only know when things need to be improved after BOTH the DI and membrane have both been saturated/used up.
Yup... agree.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
That makes sense to me. Thanks


Steve
__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 09:55 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
This is why I prefer a handheld tds meter. I can easily monitor tds at the tap, after the RO membrane, and most importantly after the DI.

The first two are for my curiosity. The last one is the important measurement as it is the only reliable method to know when the DI is exhausted and needs to be replaced.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDS in....TDS out of RO well water for reef jackdp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-26-2006 10:59 AM
has anyone tried or used the Seachem Ammonia Alert sensor?? Bubble_B0y General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-19-2006 05:16 PM
Where's the evap/sensor supposed to go? austinsdad General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-16-2006 12:41 PM
Whats going on with my temp sensor for chiller??? MikeWhoTruong General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 09-02-2005 07:55 PM
Submersible heater - where is the sensor ? Volker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-24-2005 09:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.