Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2010, 03:12 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SAAVE853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 275
I got my ro/di on ebay as well and have it strapped to the top on a trash can with the excess water being dumped out of my a/c water dump pipe. The only thing is that since i keep the water in there i run a power head and an air-stone for circulation. Here is a pic so u can see what i mean.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (19).jpg
Views:	47
Size:	206.6 KB
ID:	26402  
__________________

__________________
Live & Let Live!
SAAVE853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 04:22 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
great idea! then do you use a sump to get it from the trash can to the tank?
__________________

__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 10:39 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SAAVE853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 275
My tank has a sump and it also has a 15 gal reservoir with an auto top off. I wish i could put my ro/di directly on there but there is no water outlet by my tank so when i need to top off that i just disconnect from the water and wheel the trashcan over.
__________________
Live & Let Live!
SAAVE853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 10:42 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i think patrick meant "pump", not sump...right?
i have a similar setup, but my can is close enough to use 10' of hose and a strong pump to bring it to the tank.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:16 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
You're right Doug, reading and saying pump/sump I got a little dyslexic.

I was wondering how far they were from each other to see how strong of a pump you used
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:41 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SAAVE853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 275
Sorry about that :/
__________________
Live & Let Live!
SAAVE853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 03:42 PM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I just unscrew the kitchen aerator and screw in a facet to garden hose adapter that my RODI unit connects to. Takes about 2 -3 minutes if that.
I have a 25' and a 50' outlet hose to reach from the kitchen to either my top off tank, or my pwc tank. No I don't need 50', I'm just too lazy to cut it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 04:03 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
Those instructions are for most RODI units. Not all units come with the all the parts mentioned. so check to make sure the saddle tap is included, or how much extra it costs.

RODI units produce different amounts of water depending on the RO membrane. I have the 150GPD (gallons per day) membrane in my Typhoon III. I replaced the original membrane last year after 5 years of service.

Most RODI units will waste about 4x the amount of water produced. It all depends on how efficient the RO membrane is, the pressure of the tap water and the temperature.

RODI units produce best with water over 50 degrees and about 60 - 70 psi.

I have a booster pump to bring my 45psi tap up to 70psi for my RODI unit and it now produces water at the rated 150 gallons per day (6.25 gallon per hour).

You need to check on the RO membrane efficiency too. The 75 and 150 are in the 98% range and the 100 is about 92% (from memory).
How can you find out what your PSI rate is?
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 04:28 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwilliams View Post
How can you find out what your PSI rate is?
I just JUST trying to figure this out. It looks like the cheapest/easiest method is to buy a $10 pressure gauge that can be purchased from Lowes or Home depot (any hardware store basically) which will attach to a hose or faucet. Then you simply turn on your water and check pressure.
__________________
NickRummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 04:32 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Thanks will check them out.
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO/DI units....need help bavass General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-25-2010 08:45 PM
RO/DI units - which one? Caige General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 08-20-2008 05:02 PM
RO/DI Units ??? Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-11-2006 09:25 PM
Which one of these RO/DI units should I get? lmw80 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 06-22-2006 10:58 PM
RO/DI units kribbz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 05-07-2003 12:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.