Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-10-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
RO membrane

At the swap my cousin picked up an RO membrane. It was new, but not in any packaging. When we hooked it up, no water came out thru the membrane. 100% of the water was rejected and came out the waste line.
Every RO membrane I ever bought came sealed in an airtight bag. This 1 was not. Can a membrane dry out? We even put the old membrane back in and that 1 worked.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 11:20 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I do think they can dry out.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 09:34 AM   #3
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I think so too, but can't really find out any info about it. I posted on RC and haven't got an answer there either.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 02:27 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Larry,

Get in touch with Marc Levenson on RC. Melev is his ID there. He has a forum all to himself about RO/DI units. I'm pretty sure he will be able to answer you question.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:26 PM   #5
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Or drop an email to your manufacturer (or any probably) for some insight. The company that made mine has answered multiple (highly intelligent) questions from me. I hate diagrams with no verbiage !!!
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO membrane worn out? Scoot General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 03-09-2008 04:21 PM
Membrane on Driftwood fishfairy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-30-2006 04:19 PM
filmtech membrane sango General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-23-2006 11:08 AM
R/O membrane. brndfrb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 12-01-2004 12:05 PM
RO membrane question colorblindpicas Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-26-2003 05:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.