Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-01-2005, 01:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mtns of Denver, CO
Posts: 346
RO Pump

How long should a Shurflow 100 gpd last?

I have had mine for 1 1/2 yrs. we are on a well and the setup is after a Culligan water softener.

The pump does not engage at any pressure. Water just flows thru, I did not realize till this am after eing away for 2 days and the well run dry, but the well has since come back since I shut off the flow to the RO.

Any ideas on what to do, or just buy a new one.
__________________

__________________
It's not a dress, it's a kilt.
pipermurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 03:31 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Your well ran dry. I dont know how thse pumps are rigged up but will they cut off when there is no water flowing thru them? If not then its possible the pump burnt up after the supply of water to it stopped.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 11:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mtns of Denver, CO
Posts: 346
So I should just buy another pump in your best guess. The pump doesn't turn on.
The well running dry was an end result of the pump not working properly. Even now if I turn the valve feeding the RO system water will flow thru the system, but the pump will not come on, even at 20 lbs of pressure
__________________
It's not a dress, it's a kilt.
pipermurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 12:19 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Hmm...I'd probably want to check the pressure switch before I spent the $$ for a new pump. Can you bypass it just to check the pump motor? If it runs that way, you should be able to pick up a pressure switch for a lot less than a new pump. Worth a try anyway.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which pump should I get ????? jose7878 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-11-2009 10:59 PM
Skimmer's pump and return pump together? Is it ok? xxnonamexx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 02-11-2006 01:30 AM
well pump? krap101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-15-2005 11:06 PM
Submersible Pump or an External Pump???????? BigDog54 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-10-2005 05:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.