Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2005, 11:02 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 130
Send a message via MSN to formanbob
RO System

Is this ok,,

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MEWA:IT
__________________

__________________
formanbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 12:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 125
Mine is getting delivered on Saturday so I will let you know. I know the people at my LFS and they did some research on it and said it looked fine. Might be a little overkill since it is a 6 stage RO so you will probably need to add some trace elements back in.
__________________

__________________
the21kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 12:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 130
Send a message via MSN to formanbob
Ok, so how many stages should I get,, also , will the RO system take out the chlorine?

Where else should I look, I don’t want to spend a bunch, I only need it for 15 gallons a week so I don’t need the biggest system,,,
__________________
90g FW Planted Commune 2x65 PC’s 2x? NO's
58g SW FO + prop cage 2x96 PC’s 10k and Actinic
30g SW Reef 1x250 MH 10k 1x35? PC Actinic
5g FW Planted Dwarf Puffer 19w PC
formanbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 04:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
I bought mine from filterdirect on ebay. Here is what I have.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...347389705&rd=1

I've been very happy with it. And yes, it will remove the chorine also.

Check their other auctions. If you don't need one so big. They have smaller units.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 04:46 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 125
Actually mine is coming from filter direct as well. I am sure you noticed that they are the same in the pictures...just a different label. Fluff is right in that it removes chlorine as well. A good idea would be run the RO to see how quickly you will get the amount of water you need. Mine is 110gal a day which is more than I need for all 3 tanks once a month. I also believe that chlorine is most cases would be removed by just having the water sit out for a day or 2...I could be totally wrong since this is heresay. But either way Fluff is right in that the RO/DI system will remove chlorine...along with darn near everything else...but that's a good thing of course
__________________
the21kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 04:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 130
Send a message via MSN to formanbob
hey thanks a bunch
__________________
formanbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 04:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 125
sorry but forgot to address something else in regards to your question forman. The number of stages doesn't have much, if anything do to with how much water the system will put out. The more stages the more "pure,"if you will, the water that will come out. If you are comfortable spending what is asked for on Ebay I would go with it. I did some searching, as I bet you did, and noticed that the RO/DI units specific to aquariums are much more costly and produce less water in the same amount of time.
__________________
the21kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 04:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 130
Send a message via MSN to formanbob
Quote:
Originally Posted by the21kid
sorry but forgot to address something else in regards to your question forman. The number of stages doesn't have much, if anything do to with how much water the system will put out. The more stages the more "pure,"if you will, the water that will come out. If you are comfortable spending what is asked for on Ebay I would go with it. I did some searching, as I bet you did, and noticed that the RO/DI units specific to aquariums are much more costly and produce less water in the same amount of time.
Sorry, I was asking about this
Quote:
Might be a little overkill since it is a 6 stage RO so you will probably need to add some trace elements back in.
__________________
formanbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 04:59 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 125
I did some quick searching and the only 3 or 4 stage units I could find were specific to aquariums and costed much more than the 6 stage you are contemplating. They also averaged and out put from 24 gallons a day to 50 a day. Adding the trace elements back in is very simple and effective. I am not sure how big your tank is or what quality tap water you have currently but I would go with this system. Hopefully this helps and I will let you know how mine turns out. Good luck and sorry for the confusion
__________________
the21kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 05:14 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 130
Send a message via MSN to formanbob
Quote:
Originally Posted by the21kid
I did some quick searching and the only 3 or 4 stage units I could find were specific to aquariums and costed much more than the 6 stage you are contemplating. They also averaged and out put from 24 gallons a day to 50 a day. Adding the trace elements back in is very simple and effective. I am not sure how big your tank is or what quality tap water you have currently but I would go with this system. Hopefully this helps and I will let you know how mine turns out. Good luck and sorry for the confusion
well thanks,,, sounds good, I think I will get one that had a 3-4 gal tank so that I can hook my ice up to it and maybey drinking water.
The main problem with my water is cyano loves it...

Quote:
Adding the trace elements back in is very simple and effective. I am not sure how big your tank is or what quality
What might I need to add, should I just get it hook it up and then have my water tested at the LFS and see what i need?
__________________

__________________
formanbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ro/DI system mandown123 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 05-14-2008 08:29 PM
RO/DI System sdellin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-23-2005 03:18 PM
RO System jersysman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 05-21-2005 01:52 PM
RO system down pipermurphy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-01-2005 04:13 PM
Eco-System 40 HOT System riptide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 11-23-2003 12:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.