Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-24-2007, 04:59 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WOODSTOCK, GA
Posts: 973
Send a message via AIM to MACATUA Send a message via MSN to MACATUA Send a message via Yahoo to MACATUA
Good suggestion, hmmmmmm, I wonder what would be a good solution.
__________________

__________________
Woo Hoo, PAYDAY! Time to pay the LFS rent (even before I pay mine )


Join the Alabama Regional Forum!
MACATUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 05:36 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Well if you don't have a sink near by then you are limited to what you can do. How close to a door or a window is the tank? Would it work for you to put a 32gallon trash can in for the waste water and then pump the water out of that tank to the outside?
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 05:40 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WOODSTOCK, GA
Posts: 973
Send a message via AIM to MACATUA Send a message via MSN to MACATUA Send a message via Yahoo to MACATUA
I'll have to get in the basement tonight and see if there is a place to rid the water. Otherwise, I will have to put a 32 gallon trash can on a wooden furniture dolly and wheel it to the door to dump it out.!
__________________
Woo Hoo, PAYDAY! Time to pay the LFS rent (even before I pay mine )


Join the Alabama Regional Forum!
MACATUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 06:52 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
That would be a good solution....thought I think I would take a pump and drop it in there and pump the water out instead of trying to dump it. 32g is pretty heavy.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 07:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WOODSTOCK, GA
Posts: 973
Send a message via AIM to MACATUA Send a message via MSN to MACATUA Send a message via Yahoo to MACATUA
True, or I could even just simply siphon the water from the 32 gallon outside if I wheeled it to the door or window.
__________________
Woo Hoo, PAYDAY! Time to pay the LFS rent (even before I pay mine )


Join the Alabama Regional Forum!
MACATUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 08:34 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
I guess my original point was that if you depend on a human (yourself!) to do the dumping, then eventually you will forget. And you know how it goes... the day you forget will be the same time the water level is at the tippy top!

In my opinion, having a bigger "bucket" really doesn't rid yourself of the problem. In fact, you might even increase the odds of it happening because you're not dumping it on a consistent basis. Remember... these units dribble water out pretty slow. You're going to have this thing turned on for a while. That's why many people set them up with float switches that automatically turn them on or off. (Of course, those can get buggered up too!)
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 08:39 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WOODSTOCK, GA
Posts: 973
Send a message via AIM to MACATUA Send a message via MSN to MACATUA Send a message via Yahoo to MACATUA
Oh, I agree with you idea! It is just whether or not I can get close enough to a door or window to get rid of the water without the bucket. Otherwise I may have to get a laundry sink plumbed downstairs one day.

Thanks for the suggestions.
__________________
Woo Hoo, PAYDAY! Time to pay the LFS rent (even before I pay mine )


Join the Alabama Regional Forum!
MACATUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 09:40 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Yes you can forget to turn it off...there is no fool proof way, even if you have a drain for the waste line you are still putting the RO/DI into something so whether you have a drain for the waste or not and you forget to turn it off you will have a problem. In this situation I think a larger container for the waste water is a far better idea then a 5gallon bucket.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 09:43 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Hey... here's an idea I just thought of while I was walking through my garage.

If you have a newer natural gas furnace, then your probably have a condensate pump plumbed to it. Water trickles out of your furnace, into a little box that serves as a tank, which has a pump and float switch built in. You can get them with different size reservoirs, and different sized pumps that will deal with varying head heights. You should be able to find them at most hardware stores, and you can get them online. Just Google "condensate pump".

If you could find one with a decent capacity, and with a pump strong enough for whatever height you need to get your water out of the house, then that might be an option. My condensate pump routes my water through a vinyl tube that goes through a hole drilled in my wall, and only pumps about a 2-3 foot head.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 09:43 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WOODSTOCK, GA
Posts: 973
Send a message via AIM to MACATUA Send a message via MSN to MACATUA Send a message via Yahoo to MACATUA
agreed, I think I am going to try the 32 gallon trash can assuming that I don't have access to a door or window, put it on a furniture dolly, wheel it to the door and siphon it outside.

Thanks.

Please check out my other post on plumbing my 180 and give any comments you can.
__________________

__________________
Woo Hoo, PAYDAY! Time to pay the LFS rent (even before I pay mine )


Join the Alabama Regional Forum!
MACATUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, stall, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO Unit question Jaybird Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 09-17-2009 11:28 PM
HELP, how do install this ro/di unit??? mazilla General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-18-2007 12:26 PM
Coralife Pro 4x96PC & 3x150MH install question austinsdad General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 03-14-2006 12:52 PM
RO unit Question beachbumin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-20-2005 10:02 AM
RO/DI Unit Question bstrike Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-10-2005 09:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.