Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-31-2014, 12:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
RO unit producing 40 ppm

My brand new aquaticlife 3 stage RO unit is producing 40 ppm water. Any suggestions on why this might be?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 12:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Is that a ro/di unit or just ro? And do you mean tds? If just ro that's normal
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
Check you tds coming out of the tap. When I just run the ro on my aquaticlife it comes out 30. It all depends on how much your tds is to begin with. Mines 500-600

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
It's 400

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 09:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
Do you have the 100 gallon per day or 50 gallons per day?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 10:14 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobykourtney View Post
Do you have the 100 gallon per day or 50 gallons per day?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
100gpd

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
I've heard the 100 gpd filters are less efficient. I don't know which ro membrane they use but most of the commercial filters I've looked up are 98% efficency for all but the 100 gpd which is 90% which sounds right for what your showing.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
I guess I will have to make do with 40ppm. And eventually get the DI unit as well

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:38 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
I just checked mine and I've got 582 out of tap, 34 out of ro and 0 out of di. I would strongly recommend the di if your doing saltwater I tried just ro and got cyano bad.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 04:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
90% rejection rate is a bit low, if the filter is new I would expect better.

Are you letting it run a bit, and are you flushing the membrane?

I have about 370 ppm input water, a common Dow filter, and am getting about 20 ppm out of the RO side, but for the first pint or so it is more like 35ppm (decreasing), even if I have flushed.

What I do is:

- Open the RO tap (blocking DI)
- Flush the filter about 3 minutes (i.e. no flow restriction)
- Add flow restriction so it is making RO water, let that run for another 5 minutes
- At this point I'm getting about 20 ppm
- Switch it to go through the Di filter
- Let that flush for another 5 minutes or so (even though it is always 0 ppm so far)

Collect water.

When done, close off the DI, flush the membrane again for 3-5 minutes, and put it all away.

When the membrane is not under pressure there can be flow of dissolved solids across the membrane which means initial water out is higher.

On the other hand, if you are steadily getting 40ppm, it may just be the type of minerals -- any given membrane has widely varying rejection rates for different contaminants. I wouldn't worry unless this rises.
__________________

__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rodi unit. Di unit qestion Fish-guy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-17-2012 04:12 PM
My EBay claimed 0 ppm TDS RO-DI 150 (gpd)unit test deepseadan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-11-2011 12:59 AM
Cascade Canister Filter Producing Heat mr_tee0419 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-04-2004 11:53 PM
aqua c skimmer not producing douggiestyle Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-13-2004 02:37 PM
Skimmer producing alot of bubbles. RubixCube Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 11-25-2003 01:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.