Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-31-2005, 09:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
RO Unit question

Question: I have a Kent Marine RO/DI 3 stage filter and am wondering why people dont use the RODI units from like Lowes, Home Depot, ect. If you read up on them, appears they pull out more 'bad stuff' than some of the "fish" appointed untis do. My main deal with the Kent marines and such are the filters are so expensive. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 09:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Also can you use other filters from other RO units as replacements instead of the ones you order on line?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 09:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AquaReefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 271
Yeah I was at Lowes yesterday Looking at them. They Are pretty much the same thing I was actually going to make a post asking if they would work. TIA
__________________
125g~Zoanthid dominated~SPS~LPS~T. crocea~S. haddoni~2xSaddleback Clowns~Hippo, Kole, Achilles Tang~Leopard Wrasse~Flame Angel~Purple Firefish~Gobies~Chromis~3xCleaner Shrimp~2xHarlequin Shrimp~Pistol Shrimp
AquaReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 10:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Yeah the main difference I see in them is not the price of the actual unit...its the difference in price of the filters. AND most of the filters they have LOOK like they would fit in my Kent RO unit. I just think when you order items from a LFS or on line and its a pet or fish store, the markup is huge for most items..now there are some things I know have to be different such as the VHO lights and such...you have to have ones that are meant for tanks
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 10:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
You can use the filters that HD and Lowes sells. You want to make sure your getting the right micron size that your running now or read up and change up on the micron size to get the max out of your membrane. No need to buy Kent products there is a HUGH mark up on them. Membranes only 2-3 companies make them and they are all about the same. I run HD micron filters and I still buy the carbon form AWI. I probably will be going to all HD filters soon if they carry the right micron size on the carbon. You can also up your membrane GPd also if you want, you just need to get the right restrictor and your good to go. Lets say you have a kent 35gpd and you want to run a 75 gpd.. You need to get the new membrane and then take out the inline restrictor that came with the kent unit and then add the after market restrictor. Its an easy upgrade. Not sure what the HD prices are now but ebay has some real good prices that HD could never match.. And does the HD unit have DI or are they just RO? I have never seen a DI unit at HD. RO/DI is the best.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 11:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Seachem
I misled you on the RODI part - the unit at HD. What I meant to say was they have RO units and really you could take their unit and add a DI to it. Still would be cheaper than what you would spend on Kents stuff.
Ok so I have a Kent 65 GPD. I dont really care about upgrading at this point as I all I have is a 140 gallon tank. Can you post me where you buy your filters from off of Ebay? Is it the same person each time? Or what do you search by as you seem to have done this a lot in the past. Thanks for all the info. I did find one company off of the internet for filters but still pretty spendy. The main one filter I go through is the DI one..guess this is normal.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 10:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I have get most of my stuff from airwaterice.com and resindepot.com has some great resin. I buy the micron filters at HD.
Ebay sells all the filters and ro/di units cheaper then HD does, I have not bought any filters from ebay so maybe someone else can help out there.
I will be looking at them soon for filters depending on what the prices are at AWI now.
Kent and spectra pure IMO are very over priced, your paying for the name.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 11:52 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I was about to order new filters last week when I saw the filters at Lowes. I got a 2 pack of the Whirlpool sediment and a pack of the carbon. I picked those because the micron size (5) was clearly noted on the box. They work
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 01:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
I have decided to go with a 50 gpd home unit from the local water supply company. They will install including am extra 40g tank with float shut off just for my SW set up. It is RO only as opposed to RODI. The reason being is that you do not want to drink DI and my system will be plumbed to the kitchen sink as well as the ice maker which will make the 1-2 gallon a day top off convientent.

Going this route will be a bit more pricy up front, but should pay dividends in the long run. The company I am getting it from has been local since 1952 and the replacement filters are only $4 for one and $15 for the other. The best part is the Membrane that I thought would have to replace yearly should only need replacing every 5-7 years. He said he has even had them last up to 12 years. It will come with a TDS meter as well.

Total cost is about $300 plus installation, but I can lease the first year for $16.50/month and apply that toward purchase at the end of the year. I am currently spending $20-25/month in fish water alone and we will now have drinking water as well not to mention the convience of not traveling.
I asked why the other ones do not last that long and his comment was that many of the online versions that you can get for $100-150 have membranes made in Mexico and the quality is just not that good.

As for not having DI I am not that concerned considering how much the RO takes out. It will be like 99% pure and I will just need to check my salt mixing each time.

They will even plumb everything so I can take it with me if we move some day. The guy spent about 30 minutes with me answering my questions and asking good questions so he can customize the setup to my needs. They have done several homes with aquariums with good results.

Installation is set for Wed, so I will let you know how it goes.
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 03:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
If you have phosphates, silacates and nitrates you will need to add on a DI for the tank. I hope it works out for you.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO Unit question Jaybird Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 09-17-2009 11:28 PM
Ro/DI Unit Question? Tank2379 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-21-2009 05:04 PM
New Here. Question about RO Unit ReeferZach General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 04-19-2007 03:10 PM
RO Unit Question jwright Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 06-05-2006 07:09 PM
RO/DI Unit question ericosuave Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-26-2004 07:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.