Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2012, 09:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
RODI Accessories

I'm getting a unit soon and was wondering what are the important accessories I should get with it there are so many, what's important and what's not that you guys have had experience with. THANKS
__________________

__________________
VinnyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 310
Tds meter, probably the most important, bulk reef supply 5 stage comes with pretty much everything youll need
__________________

__________________
150g pond koi and comets
125 in wall reef , 55 sump
Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
I'm def. getting one from BRS they have some good stuff, wondering the flush get do you leave that on all the time or do you just flush it once a week or what?
__________________
VinnyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 11:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 310
Couple minutes before and after each use
__________________
150g pond koi and comets
125 in wall reef , 55 sump
Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Just reading through the thread, something caught my attention. . . "flush" of an RODI system. I have a spectrapure 4 stage. I have never done any kind of flush. Can someone explain what that means please and what it does? Thank you
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:14 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
You "flush" the membrane to remove tds build up. I have a flush kit on my BRS unit and it bypasses the di and exit tube and goes straight out the waste. I run it for about 10 minutes before each use. I have watched the built in tds meter show the water impurity improve as the flush time goes on. Definite must have.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 07:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
Ok so I was thinking of getting the 4 stage from BRS for 130 but now I'm thinking spend the extra money get the 5 stage that comes with all those good accessories for 200, worth the money ?
__________________
VinnyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shoei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: De Land, Florida
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Shoei
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinnyP View Post
Ok so I was thinking of getting the 4 stage from BRS for 130 but now I'm thinking spend the extra money get the 5 stage that comes with all those good accessories for 200, worth the money ?

It is i have the 5 stage took me 5 mins to set up its worth the extra $ for the extra stuff it comes with. Mine works great never had a problem yet. Comes with all fitting for whatever you may want to attach it to and plenty of line if you go far.

Product
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Shoei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:10 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
So does it already come all hooked up like all the accessories, and all you need to do is hook it up to what ever water source?
__________________
VinnyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:38 AM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Basically yes. When i got my 5 stage from brs i only had to cut and install a couple hoses to get it running. Took 5 minutes.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
accessories, rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.