Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-08-2014, 11:40 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
RODI Carbon block replacement - measure chlorine?

The general advice I see is to replace the carbon block every 6 months, however, these are definitely usage based filter, and (a) it's hard to know how much usage I have, and (b) on the original filters I have no idea what they are rated for.

Telling if they are clogged is easy - I have pressure gauges on both sides of the collective (sediment + 2 carbon), and after about 6 months the drop is only about 5psi max (flushing state). So there's plenty of particle collection space left.

But the carbon's chlorine capacity is the other concern.

Anyone know whether there is any point in measuring its chlorine neutralization as a means to know when to replace? What would be normal, and what would be the replacement point? (And what kind of test kit can test that level)?

I have spares, it's not that... I just hate to consume things that are still working perfectly. But I also don't want to damage the membrane.
__________________

__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 07:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 58
A total dissolved solids meter would tell ya if anything is getting by.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
militantpotato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 09:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
Well, only after the damage is done to the membrane by chlorine.

I think from lack of finding info there must not be a good way to evaluate the carbon filters, at least economically.
__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 11:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 58
There are lots of reagentless online free chlorine monitors, though unless I'm missing a consumer grade one they start around $3000.
Would teeing off the line prior to the membrane for regular testing be feasible?

Sent from my LG-E980 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
militantpotato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 12:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by militantpotato View Post
There are lots of reagentless online free chlorine monitors, though unless I'm missing a consumer grade one they start around $3000.
Would teeing off the line prior to the membrane for regular testing be feasible?
Well, yes, plus the waste line is already exactly that -- that's why I thought this was easy, just put a test tube under the waste and check chlorine - if it's detectable, time to change the carbon blocks.

But the pool tests, at least to my read, are aimed too high to be useful, so I think this is not very viable. By the time you start seeing 0.5ppm +/- I suspect the membrane is toast.
__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 12:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 58
There are higher resolution test strips, Grainger has a couple.
http://m.grainger.com/mobile/product...?fromPidp=true

Sent from my LG-E980 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
militantpotato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon, rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon replacement 40galreef Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 07-15-2012 03:05 PM
How do I measure O2 and CO2??? PLEASE HELP ASAP!!!! AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 04-27-2004 11:23 AM
Getting a made to measure tank firthy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 11-23-2003 07:05 AM
what to measure when using CO2? Electrobes Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 06-19-2003 12:08 AM
Measure gallons per hour? mound Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 05-21-2003 05:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.