Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2013, 08:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
Rodi question

If my tds meter starts to read high I think I need to change the di resin. How do I know when the other filters need changed? Rodi unit is 1 year old and doing 15 gallon water changes every two weeks. Have only changed di resin once about a month ago and the tds is already reading 25. Thanks for any help in advance.
__________________

__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
How long ago did you replace the ro filter? A pressure gauge on the filter will drop significantly or the volume of ro/di is too low. Other system have tds on both sides of resin cartridge. You can also take sample of RO for tds.
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
I replaced the di resin about six weeks ago. I don'thave a pressure gauge but I'm not opposed to getting one.
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
The RO filters are the first to get clogged up or used up. If resin is replaced you might as well replace the RO filters too. If your TDS meter does not monitor the input side of DI you need to get a portable TDS meter.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
It is a double one. It measures going in and coming out. Lfs told me to just change di resin. But sooner or later the others have to get clogged?
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
If the 25 tds is the output then there is a problem. Your RO filter might be overdue. When installing the filter, you need to flush it by letting it run for about 10 gal as waste before hooking up the DI. What is the input tds reading?
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
The input is reading about 240
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:03 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
Is the ro filter throne on top. The di is the resin? When I read about them I'm never sure which filter they are referring to.
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 04:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
The top one is the RO membrane while the first 2 hanging are the RO filters which has to be replaced more often like every 6 months depending on how bad your water supply is. The last one hanging is the DI which is the resin you just replaced. If the 240 tds on the input side of DI then you definite need to replace both RO filters and membrane. You should have taken notes on what was the readings when you first installed it.
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.