Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2014, 02:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Rodi Setup

I want to connect my rodi under my bathroom sink but I don't want to pierce anything, I don't even have copper piping under there, and no cold water shut off valves under sink. How do I go about this? All I see is barbed tubing.
__________________

__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 04:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Anyone? I can't find any adapters... I'm thinking of a t valve but none fit a 1/4" tube -.-
__________________

__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 08:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
If I were to pierce, can I do it here? It's in my closet and connected to the bath tub. There aren't any shut off valves tho so I would just have to turn off water to the house and turn on tub taps to depressurize the copper piping correct? Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391646994.438420.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	221004
__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 10:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Without piercing and creating a permanent hole in the pipe, you can always cut away a section, put on a tee with a ball valve going to the RO unit.

If you have a washing machine, you can install it in your laundry. This is how I did it:
My laundry room RO/DI installation - YouTube
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 10:56 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
I ended up piercing the piping in my closet. If I ever need to use the RODI in the basement when I upgrade I could always just remove the input piping from the system and use the manual shut off valve to stop flow from the piping.
__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you drink RODI water? degbowl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 03-07-2006 10:06 PM
Clown likes to take RODI baths jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 02-16-2005 02:51 PM
Are these RODI numbers good? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-15-2004 08:17 PM
Got my ebay RODI jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 10-17-2004 12:05 PM
RODI for startup of new tank? jaiden Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 09-27-2004 08:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.