Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-08-2011, 04:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
rodi system question

OK so I have an rodi system and I have noticed that it takes about 3 gallons to make one gallon. So what I want to know is can I run the drainage line back to the inlet line with a t fitting so I can eliminate the wasted water..... I can't find anything online that tells me it's not a good idea so any help would b great....
__________________

__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 04:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
slitherbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 2,191
The only negative I can think of is that it would take a large toll on the filters because the tds will be significantly higher than normal. You would have to change the filters a lot more frequently.
__________________

__________________
Lalala
slitherbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 04:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
Yeah but I think 20 bucks for the filters from BRS every 6 months is better then the 40 dollar increase I saw on my water bill.
__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob_mango View Post
OK so I have an rodi system and I have noticed that it takes about 3 gallons to make one gallon. So what I want to know is can I run the drainage line back to the inlet line with a t fitting so I can eliminate the wasted water..... I can't find anything online that tells me it's not a good idea so any help would b great....

NO!!! You cannot do that!! The RO membrane is removing solids from your water, so keeping it in a closed loop will plug the system very quickly.... My tap water has a TDS of 440, and the waste is 550, so everytime the waste would recycle through, that number will get higher & higher with no place for the filtered out material to go.

Fortunately, my RODI is in my basment mounted on the wall right next to my washing machine.... I just run the waste line into the washer and do a load of work clothes whenever it starts to fill up (You'd be surprised how much water a washing machine takes to fill!!).
__________________
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:13 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
OK but idk off the top of my head what my tds is of my water but I have a water softener hooked up to my house water would that help lower the tds
__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 07:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Fun fact to know and tell: Do you know what's in a water softener?

Cation DI resin. It is a special type of resin that captures hardness (primarily calcium and magnesium) and releases sodium. So in that process it doesn't really lower TDS.

Russ
__________________
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye Field S View Post
Fun fact to know and tell: Do you know what's in a water softener?

Cation DI resin. It is a special type of resin that captures hardness (primarily calcium and magnesium) and releases sodium. So in that process it doesn't really lower TDS.

Russ
Exactly right. A water softener will lower your GH, not KH, and does nothing to lower TDS
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 11:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
OK so how do the zero waste rodi systems work is there more then one membrane or something....
__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 11:27 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 1,251
OK so I just found out how the zero waste water system works by putting the water back into the hot side of ur water system on ur house so I might just buy the kit that will do that it is 150 bucks I think it will b worth the money has anyone used this it is a Watts system
__________________
rob_mango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 01:59 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
In many places that process doesn't meet code because you are putting dechlorinated water back into your potable water. RO and RODI systems are prone to biological growth - so make sure you are adequately and frequently sanitizing your RODI system if you do that.
__________________

__________________
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Challenging Question on Bacteria . . . Wy Renegade Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 66 01-29-2012 08:56 AM
PWC system Territoons DIY Projects 23 09-21-2011 09:28 PM
50 gal stocking question and Fluval in/outlet placement sobersteve323 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-15-2011 12:14 PM
Aggression question Boomer2244 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-30-2011 03:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.