Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-03-2005, 06:50 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic


 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rockwall, Texas
Posts: 598
I have a 1000VA APC Smart-UPS. I read this thread a couple of days ago and thought I would give it a try. Here's my tank specs (for power):

1 AquaClear 200/50 HOB
1 Penguin 100 HOB
1 100W Heater
1 30" Flourescent light (not sure on the wattage. Came with the hood)

I ran everything constant, except the light. The light was on for 2 hours every 12 hours. The heater was set for 80F and I really couldn't monitor how long it was on/off (you know how those things go).

Remember that the Wattage of the UPS doesn't really determine how long something can run. It's really used for the load factor.

So my UPS gives me 1000VA. I figured I was throwing about 30W average (more with the heating/lighting). So, I was throwing roughly 43VA at my 1000VA UPS. Using the standard UPS sizing calculator, I take my 1000VA divided by the 43VA thrown at it. This gives me 23.25. Since it's over 3, I use a multiplyer of 1.5. This UPS can handle full load for 6.1 minutes. The formula is this:

(1000/43) x 1.5 x 6.1

This give mes 213 minutes, or about 3.5 hours.

Throwing everything on this to see if it works, I came close. I must have been off by my estimated Wattage being thrown because I lasted roughly 4.25 hours.

Just for kicks, a 350W UPS (common and cheap at under $100) will only give you about an hour. (71 minutes by the best full loaded 350W UPS)

Not very practical if you ask me. $1400 for 4 hours? No way!!!!!!! You can, however, make your own for very cheap using a battery an inverter (as mentioned).

Anyway, HTH. It's just my personal experience.
__________________

__________________
FMJnaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 10:09 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
I would thing the baterybackups they sell for sump pumps would be ideal for tank filters. They can operate a sump pump for hours, so a little 40 watt filter should be nothing.

edit: but I don't know if there are any you can plug into. perhaps a deep cycle battery and an inverter, like for a boat or RV?
__________________

__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, hob, hob filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Advice... HOB Skimmer and HOB Filter ferchoz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-15-2009 04:35 PM
UPS' for keeping the taqnk running... 2cvbloke DIY Projects 16 01-06-2008 01:53 AM
Running dual HOB filters, ideas for placement? papa_bear_21 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-29-2007 05:23 PM
DIY HOB Fuge up and Running JG DIY Projects 2 07-16-2005 05:12 PM
Filter OK not running? sunny Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-27-2004 03:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.