Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-17-2005, 12:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 63
Running Out of Room

Hi all !!!
I'd like to add a Turbo Twist UV sterilizer to my tank, but I'm running out of HOB room on the back glass. I presently have 2 powerheads, a filter, heater, and a protein skimmer with surface skimmer box taking up all but a couple of inches back there. I don't want to add a sump/refugium at this time. Do I still need the filter since I have a protein skimmer? Is there another way of hooking up the UV without adding it to the back glass?

I wish I had a bigger tank.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Thanks,
John
__________________

__________________
* John *
46 gal Bowfront
36 inch Coralife 192 watt Lunar Aqualight with a 10K & Actinic
1 Emperor 280 Bio-Wheel Filter
2 Hagen Aquaclear 802 Powerheads with Quick Filters
1 AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer
1 200 watt Heater
52 pounds of Live Rock
2 Blue/Green Chromis
1 Ocelaris Clownfish
1 Hairy Mushroom Coral
1 Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp
8 Dwarf Hermit Crabs
10 Turbo Snails
10 Margarita Snails
5 Cerith Snails
5 Bumblebee Snails
1 Queen Conch
johnd4g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 12:44 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
IMO with that much rock to the size of your tank (Assuming it has been up for at least 6 months) I think that you should be okay in removing your filter to add the UV on the back.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 03:52 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I agree. Bio-Wheel filters aren't really reccomended for SW use anyways, as they tend to be nothing but nitrate traps. I think you would be fine removing it and going with just your skimmer, and then adding the UV if you'd like.

If you are worried about waterflow, add another PH and you should be good to go.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 05:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 63
Great! I'll try it... out with the filter & in with the UV.
One more question. What will the UV sterilizer do to my water temperature. Im already at 79-80 degrees F?
__________________
* John *
46 gal Bowfront
36 inch Coralife 192 watt Lunar Aqualight with a 10K & Actinic
1 Emperor 280 Bio-Wheel Filter
2 Hagen Aquaclear 802 Powerheads with Quick Filters
1 AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer
1 200 watt Heater
52 pounds of Live Rock
2 Blue/Green Chromis
1 Ocelaris Clownfish
1 Hairy Mushroom Coral
1 Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp
8 Dwarf Hermit Crabs
10 Turbo Snails
10 Margarita Snails
5 Cerith Snails
5 Bumblebee Snails
1 Queen Conch
johnd4g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 07:19 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Nothing
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 11:30 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I have a twister uv light and its not hanging on anything. Just got it in my return line. Sumps and refuges are not that expensive anymore.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2005, 03:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
schoeplein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,213
I have an in-tank pump with hose that runs down to the UV, with a return hose coming back up and a curved-hard-plastic piece that the water flows out of. You wouldn't have to remove the bio-wheel in that case. Almost zero profile. I'm not really sure why I don't have it in my sump/fuge -- guess I wanted more flow in the actual tank. *shrug*
__________________

__________________
schoeplein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 55 is up and running motherspice Show Off/Photography 1 10-09-2008 07:34 PM
Up and running.... MurfQ Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 01-23-2007 02:41 PM
No more room for a tank.. but room for... lyquidphyre Aquaria Off-Topic 8 03-12-2006 05:52 PM
Running out of room dralarms Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 02-06-2005 05:23 PM
Okay, QT is up and running . . . toddwess Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-05-2003 11:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.