Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 12-16-2006, 10:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Saltwater Lighting metal halide questions

Hello all, and thank you in advance to all who reply!

I'm a new a new user to this forum, and i've noticed quite a bit of useful information for a newbie like myself.

My situation.....

I plan on starting out a new SW 130g tank, but i'm hung up on the lighting. As an electrician i'm able to get ahold of regular "run of the mill" ballasts and metal halide lamps, there is no need for me to buy a lamp/ballast unit as I can wire the unit myself and build a fixture. I can pick up a 400w ballast for approx $70 cnd and a 400w bulb for $15 cnd

My question..... Will any old metal halide bulb work, or are some better than others? Will an ordanary MH bulb (250w or 400w) with a "K" rating between 10,000 - 20,000 harm aquatic life? Has this been done before or is there certain filters required for such bulbs?

Thank you for your time.

tvor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 11:14 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64

Please do not cycle your tank with live animals.

Originally Posted by tvor
Will an ordanary MH bulb (250w or 400w) with a "K" rating between 10,000 - 20,000 harm aquatic life?
I'm not an electrician, but the "K" rating refers to the "color/spectrum" of light.....the higher rating the more blue (someone please correct me if I am wrong). Wattage is what it takes to power the specific bulbs. This might be better in the General Hardware section of this site. So I will move it for you.

Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle