Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-19-2012, 05:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Sand crater from hob filter.

I have just set up my 20 long with pfs for substrate. I am using a aquaclear 50 hob filter. It seems that the output from the filter is making a crater in the sand at the front of my tank. Any ideas to buffer the water to not make craters? I have the lever moved to the right to slow it down as it is.
__________________

__________________
racedvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MDChurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Strongsville, Ohio
Posts: 155
Had the same problem here with an aquaclear 50 on a ten gal. tank. Put in a small powerhead directed across the flow from the aquaclear and it solved the problem. Pushes the aquaclear flow sideways instead of down the front glass.
__________________

__________________
May all of your fish be healthy ones!!:
MDChurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Guppylove85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 69
Could you make some sort of filter baffle? like they use for betta tanks, it would also redirect the flow
__________________
Guppylove85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:19 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Try filling the tank to have the water level above the output level - for the water to NOT make a splash. Look at the pic below.




This was a quick pic. You know what I'm talking about?
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 02:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
I do know what you mean. But the tank is full. I think I wanna find a way to maybe redirect the output somehow.
__________________
racedvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 09:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
OK so I topped the tank almost to the very top. The filter output still does not touch the water, but there is no more crater. So I'm gonna just keep it near the top for now. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
racedvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, hob, hob filter, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.