Sand - Not Hardware....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tonhe

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok, I've never used sand in an aquarium before. I just setup my new 125 corner tank, w/drilled overflow and sump etc.. In my previous 50 gallon, I used crushed coral for the substrate. This time, I decided to use special grade reef sand. I rinsed each back for about 30 - 45 minutes and filled the aquarium carefully using a plate to diffuse the water. Never the less the water clouded up as expected. Its been about 16 hours now, and the water is still about 30% cloudy.. Now, I had some spots where I wanted to even the sand out a bit, but its raising huge plumes of dust, and its sticking to the sides of my tank as it settles!

Anyway - is this normal? Should I be using a better mechanical / micro-filtration pad to filter this stuff out ? Or, am I just going to have to suck it up and deal with it for a few months ?

Thanks,

-Tony

Definitely normal. I rinsed each 30Lbs bag 6 times (240Lbs) and still got a storm. I then did a huge PWC (just for fun) and that removed some more of it. It still took a few more days to settle. Once it settles and you cycle the tank, the bacteria will weigh it down a bit more. I wouldn't worry about it.
I'd really like to see a pic of a 125 corner!
A filter with carbon should help, personally, I use purigen. If you don't have a filter, don't go out an buy one for that reason. I like filters and buy one with every tank, but that is only 1 person's preference.
I just thought of this. Depending on what kind of ph you are using, you could even put a micron bad on the output or panty hose, but you would have to take it out and rinse it maybe each night (might work), I'd like to see what others say.

Last edited: