Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-05-2005, 10:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
SeaClone Protein Skimmer Hints and Tricks Explored

Hey guys,

I just bought a seaclone protein skimmer for $70. I've read some mods to do on it so I did shorten the inner tube to 2" and also put a gasket under the collection up to stop any movement inside the unit. I realize it will take a little time for the skimmer to break in but I'm curious as to the air inlet on the unit as to where it should 'about' be. Right now it is almost closed and I get decent flow but tons of micro bubbles going back into my aquarium. If I turn the valve all the way open then I get no bubbles but the water just trickles down because the waterflowstops at the top of the loop that goes out of the tank. Any ideas guys? Right now there are so many bubbles in the unit itself I can't see anything inside it but bubbles.


I figured I should go ahead and get it for 70 because they could not find a price on the unit. They 'thought' they sold it for 95 in the past but she asked me how much I saw them for and I told her 70 at bigalsonline. So she sold it to me for that price.
__________________

__________________
noteworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 12:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
$70 is decent. petco/petsmart and my LFS all want $110-$120 for the seaclone 100.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 01:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
Yeah... it hadn't been performing like I want it to.. just a big mess of bubbles in my tank and not a whole lot of bubbles.


This is what I did-


1. Shortened my inner 1" tube from 4 inches to 2.
2. Remove air hose off main pump so it just pushes water in.
3. Put in a 44 cent air stone through the top of the skimmer and placed close to where main pump is.
4. Used a gang valve to control my bubble output.
5. Found a piece of sponge off an old filter and cut it up.. folded it a few times and wedge it between the output of the skimmer and my hood. NO BUBBLES!

My skimmer is running full blast and I'm getting a ton of bubbles but none in the tank. Parts to cut the inner tube cost me 12 dollars - extension for my drill and a dremel saw blade. I'm going to seriously consider the mod to add another hole in the top container so it drains to a milk jug under the unit.


My only problem. - I'm a sound person. This air pump is driving me nuts. What do you guys recommened to silence an air pump? Actually just the vibrations. Whats cheap that could dampen it? Could I make a box or something to put it in to block out the sound?
__________________
noteworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 02:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
This air pump is driving me nuts. What do you guys recommened to silence an air pump? Actually just the vibrations. Whats cheap that could dampen it?
Maybe a computer mouse pad...
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 09:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisianna
Posts: 39
Or one of those non-slip shelf liners.
__________________
j_a_wickstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 10:12 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
I'll have to try something like that. I was thinking maybe I could use some windowunit foam liner. I've also heard of suspending in mid-air. This relates quite a bit to building a silent PC as relates to hard drives. Thanks for the info.

I'm excited the seaclone is working well. Still breaking in to get nitrates but the foam is working great off a 44 cent airstone.


One question on setting the level of airbubbles into the seaclone. Where should it sit at? Right now my bubbles are going 1/2 -1" up the column in the collection tray but not into it. I can turn it on full blast and get the bubbles almost to the top of the collection tray and it then seems to collect somewhat 'dingy' water but it is pretty clear.
__________________
noteworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 06:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
Does anyone know how to get to the 4" tube inside the reaction chamber? The one that you're suppose to cut down 1-2".
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 10:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
silencing vibration in air pumps.. the easiest way seems to be suspending it with some string into the air.. that is if you can find something to tie it to..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 09:51 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jasno999 Send a message via MSN to jasno999
Can you give me more detail on how you modified your seaclone skimmer?

How exactly did you cut the inner tube to 2 inches and what do you mean by you removed the air line off the main pump????


I need soem help with mine and I would appreciate soem input.

My e-mail is Jason_Crandall@Hotmail.com
__________________
jasno999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 10:07 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 46
Quote:
silencing vibration in air pumps.. the easiest way seems to be suspending it with some string into the air.. that is if you can find something to tie it to..
Try using Air Hooks....you can normally get them for a couple of $ from most Hardware Stores....just ask the assistant.
__________________

__________________
55 Gall glass. 30-40lb LR, CPR Bakpak 2R skimmer, Eheim 2215 canister, 2 x MJ1200 PHs for flow. 2 NO Marine White tubes, fine layer of Arganite for substrate. Just switched to RO water.

Occupants - Currently re-cycling tank....will be adding 3 Chromis once cycled
philthefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick, protein, protein skimmer, seaclone, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seaclone Protein Skimmer Cleaning JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-18-2007 07:23 PM
SeaClone Protein Skimmer... is it good enough? mike3epanda Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 05-30-2007 09:09 PM
Seaclone Protein skimmer OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-05-2006 12:14 PM
Seaclone Protein Skimmer? seacat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-02-2005 07:04 PM
Seaclone Protein Skimmer gozetec02 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 12-16-2004 05:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.