Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-05-2010, 11:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
Seaclone Skimmer

My skimmer has never produced foam or bubbles
I only have the tornado action in the chamber. Is that
normal? I hear it is supposed to foam, but not mine.
It always looks clean. The output is normal, no bubbles
into tank. Seems to be working properly, but no foam?
Everyone is healthy and I change filter every month
and clean skimmer twice a month. Water is in good
shape. Little or no ammonia or nitrates present.
I have a 20 gal QT, should I move it there and get
a better one for my 36 gallon SW tank?
__________________

__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:56 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`m not familiar with that one but shouldnt there be an air line to draw air in and produce the foam?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 12:02 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
There is an airline and at the end there is a knob you turn to increase or
decrease airflow. I have mine closed, maybe I need to open it. I just feel
like it is TOO clean and I'm not skimming. The top of the water does not
have a nasty looking coat of slime you sometimes see. I am looking in to
an aquac remora. I read good things about it, negative things about seaclone.
I can put that one on my 20 gal QT that doesn't have a skimmer at all now,
just an in tank quiet filter and it seems to stay pretty clean.
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 12:04 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You need some air going through to get the foam to form and then it will rise up.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 12:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
I'll open it up a bit and see how it goes. Thanks for the input!!
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 12:24 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
When you open the valve up, open it to the point where you see a large air bubble in the bend on the pipe that transfers water from the pump to the skimmer, and then slowly close it until the bubble is almost completely gone. This is the only way I have gotten mine to "skim" It produces a very, very wet and thin skimmate most of the time. I would grab that Remora in a heartbeat if I had a bigger tank as the SeaClone stinks, but I really don't need a skimmer on my tank so I'm just going to leave it alone. HTH.

Other brands to look at are Reef Octopus and CPR Aquatics.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 12:28 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
Sure got noisy when I opened up airlime. Spitting what looks like
left overs in the aquarium too, That can't be good... but I am seeing foam.
I'll see if I have collected anything in the a.m.
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 12:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
I meant airline. I did order the remora and I'll move the seaclone to the
QT I guess. It is loud now with the valve opened up. Been doing it wrong
for months. I don't really like the way the seaclone is made because if you
aren't very careful it will come apart and you will have a mess on your hands
like I had when I didn't tighten it enough and spilled lots of water
__________________

__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seaclone, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seaclone Protein skimmer OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-05-2006 12:14 PM
Seaclone Protein Skimmer? seacat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-02-2005 07:04 PM
Seaclone skimmer advise supermarvin76 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 04-20-2005 02:36 AM
seaclone skimmer mastershake Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-18-2005 10:36 AM
seaclone skimmer Lindsikins00 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 07-13-2004 06:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.