Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-27-2011, 07:27 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Seeding an Aquaclear 30

I'm still old school on filters, not much knowledge on the new appreciate any help you all can give. Thanks in advance.

So I have an Aquaclear 20 currently on one tank, and I'm setting up an aquaclear 30 on another tank. Since there is only one sponge, carbon, and ceramic filter on each, how do I go about seeding one from the other. Also on a freshwater tank would you all recommend removing the carbon filter?
__________________

__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 09:23 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Really? Nobody .
__________________

__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 09:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
The carbon filter's "carbon cleaning" affects really only last a couple weeks. After that it just becomes surface area for bacteria to grow on. To see the new filter, I'd cut the AC20 sponge and AC30 sponge in half and switch them. That way you carry some of the bacteria over into the new filter and seed the new media.

PS-I don't think 2 hours without a response really calls for bumping your thread...just a thought.
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

http://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 09:42 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
You can take whatever in the 20 n put it in the 30.
Buy some pillow floss from Walmart and use them as media.
Carbon shouldn't be used if you ain't removing medc.
Since the 20 is another cycle.
__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 09:46 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by black hills tj View Post
The carbon filter's "carbon cleaning" affects really only last a couple weeks. After that it just becomes surface area for bacteria to grow on. To see the new filter, I'd cut the AC20 sponge and AC30 sponge in half and switch them. That way you carry some of the bacteria over into the new filter and seed the new media.

PS-I don't think 2 hours without a response really calls for bumping your thread...just a thought.
Ok thank you, I'll look into cutting the sponge in half. Sorry about the bump, not intending to offend, just looking for some answers. Figured people would be all over this one, since everyone on here recommends the aquaclear so much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackMagic View Post
You can take whatever in the 20 n put it in the 30.
Buy some pillow floss from Walmart and use them as media.
Carbon shouldn't be used if you ain't removing medc.
Since the 20 is another cycle.
Not sure what you mean about the 20 is another cycle? The 20 is already cycled, looking to establish the 30.
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, seed, seeding

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear filters good or not. Sharkbait54 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 10-05-2011 04:28 PM
Aquaclear or Marineland? mattman0182 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-02-2011 04:44 PM
Old Model of AquaClear Terrance General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-24-2011 04:36 PM
Which Aquaclear filtration method to choose? Terrance Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-24-2011 03:41 PM
AquaClear 200/50 set-up ??? Batt4Christ General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 08-16-2011 06:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.