Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-09-2013, 12:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AC-X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 425
Seeding question

So I recently got a new 30 gallon tank for my ryukin goldfish and an AC 70 filter. I already have an established 20 gal with an AC 50 filter. I moved all the AC 50 media to the new AC 70 to give it a quick cycle. I also put the new bio bag that came with the AC 70 in it on top of the established one. Now all I have in the AC 50 is some floss kind of media.

My question is, is my 20 gal tank ok for awhile with only the floss? Or do I need to put a bio bag back into AC 50?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
||
|_________|
AC-X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 11:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
aquandrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: waconia minnesota
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt_o View Post
Anyone?
what fish do you have in the 20? its going to cause an ammonia spike, because you moved some of the BB over to the new tank. it will work, but keep a safe eye on water parameters and do water changes as needed.
__________________

__________________
aquandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 11:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,352
Tank Seeding

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt_o View Post
So I recently got a new 30 gallon tank for my ryukin goldfish and an AC 70 filter. I already have an established 20 gal with an AC 50 filter. I moved all the AC 50 media to the new AC 70 to give it a quick cycle. I also put the new bio bag that came with the AC 70 in it on top of the established one. Now all I have in the AC 50 is some floss kind of media.

My question is, is my 20 gal tank ok for awhile with only the floss? Or do I need to put a bio bag back into AC 50?

Thanks!
Hello wyatt...

The 20 G is fine if there are no fish in it.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 12:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AC-X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 425
I have 13 fish in it. I did, however, keep the sponge in it. I've heard that it can house BB. I'll keep an eye on the ammonia though.
__________________
||
|_________|
AC-X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
aquandrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: waconia minnesota
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt_o View Post
I have 13 fish in it. I did, however, keep the sponge in it. I've heard that it can house BB. I'll keep an eye on the ammonia though.
every piece of media in your filter holds BB. do you have an ammonia source in the new tank yet?
__________________
aquandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AC-X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquandrew View Post

every piece of media in your filter holds BB. do you have an ammonia source in the new tank yet?
Yes, a ryukin goldfish = PLENTY of ammonia
__________________
||
|_________|
AC-X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 04:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
aquandrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: waconia minnesota
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt_o View Post
Yes, a ryukin goldfish = PLENTY of ammonia
sorry i forgot about that part just monitor both tanks daily and you should be fine in a couple of weeks. i use seeded material to cycle all of my fw tanks
__________________
aquandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 04:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AC-X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquandrew View Post

sorry i forgot about that part just monitor both tanks daily and you should be fine in a couple of weeks. i use seeded material to cycle all of my fw tanks
Ok, thanks. I'll move one bio bag back to the 20 and after a few weeks then buy another one so I can have 2 in the 30.
__________________

__________________
||
|_________|
AC-X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.