Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2005, 12:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 32
Seeing a lot of post that are making me now raise my eyebrow

I have a 150H (4'L x 2'D x 30"H) that was rated by Oceanic for up to 600GPH.

It came pre-drilled with TWO holes in the bottom. I have a good friend that's been running 2 125's for years and he says that one drain and one return is fine. I wanted to use both drilles holes as drains and bring a PVC return up the back.

Question 1: Will I get enough drainage to my sump with just one drain stand pipe? (There a top and bottom feed on it)
Question 2: Will my Mag 950 be enough for one return or should I run both 950s to a T up the one return?
Question 3: Should I go with the 2 drain/PVC return option?

Thanks again in advance. You guys are great!!

mike
__________________

__________________
MDHatter22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:57 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
If you widen the teeth in the overflow, it should be able to handle more than 600. Alot of people run a 9.5 on them with no problems. I only run a mag7 on my megaflow with no issues. I just run PH's in the tank too.

You don't have to have a big return but it can be nice

1. It was desigend that way and will be fine.
2. With the stock overflow, 1 950 will be all it can handle. Keep in mind, you will need to watch algae growth on the overflow. If you are running the drain at it peak, this can burn you if the drain slows down and the pump does not.
3. I have read some on RC about this but I don't think I would do it. JMO though.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 11:23 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 32
Great feedback!

Really appreciate it. I'll keep you updated.

Thanks!

One more question. IYO, if I'm running a 950 on the return, can I also run a 950 on the in-sump skimmer? Or should it be bigger or smaller?

Thanks again.

mike
__________________
MDHatter22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 11:39 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Really depends on the skimmer. Some skimmers won't take a pump that big. I use a Berlin classic and currently use a mag5 on it. I think it would do better with a 7 or a 9.5 but this is what I have As long as the skimmer will take it, the bigger the better.

You might put a ball valve on the return line as well. I have read that the megaflow can handle more than 600 gph but you might have to restrict the flow. I am planning on opening up the slots on my 75 when I move it. There are quite a few thread on this on RC too.

HTH
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 12:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 32
I'm having a "plumbing" situation on my sump as it is. The feeds that came with my sump don't fit the stand pipes that came with the tank. I guess this is gonna be a custom job. Probably a better idea anyway.
__________________
MDHatter22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 09:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Check skimmer and see what they say to use..... Bigger is not always better.
Feeds with sump??? What kind of a sump do u have?
They do have reducers for pvc pipe....good luck
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 09:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 32
Oceanic Model 3 sump.

www.oceanicsystems.com

Not much there except a picture. It's the one on the right of the three.
__________________

__________________
MDHatter22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bio-wheel is making a lot of noise, please help! Lisa Hunter General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-16-2009 06:27 PM
Emperor 400 is making A LOT of noise- any suggestions??? gsxrguru2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 09-27-2005 03:51 AM
Need a little help or maybe a lot of help? rich311k Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-10-2005 11:56 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.