Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2012, 11:02 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Setting up 170gal. Suggestions welcome.

First piece of advice that I need is what's the best thing to use to level this off? It is on carpet and going to be over 2000lbs when all done.
__________________

__________________
mangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 09:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Unless this tank is on cement the first thing is to reinforce the floor!!
__________________

__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 09:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Thats the first thing that I did. Used 3 4x4 and 3 floor jacks. I got it leveled with composite shims.
Thanks for the reply.
__________________
mangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 10:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Sounds like you have it covered. Should be an awesome tank set up!! Post some pics when you get it going.
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 10:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Oh, I will. Im processing the water through my RO / DI now. Gonna take awhile. I'm actually upgrading from a 75.
__________________
mangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Any advice on using the sand in my very well established 75? I assumed that I can use the live rock.
__________________
mangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 04:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
The live rock is OK but I wouldn't use more than a couple scoops of sand. The benificial stuff will eventually populate the new sand. If you move your sand over you will have a cycle in the new tank as all the trapped sediment is released. If you did move the sand, I would wait until the cycle ends before putting anything living in the new tank, and then you would have to be really carefull with anything living in the old tank after stirring it all up.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Ok. I don't need to use the sand. What about the water?
__________________
mangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
As long as it doesn't get dirty while draining it (IE: sand isn't kicked up into the water) then I don't see why you couldn't re-use some, if not most, of your existing water. You are going to need to make almost 100g anyway going from a 75 to a 170.
__________________

__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setting up, suggestions

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.