Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2005, 08:00 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 36
Setting up RO/DI system?

I'm thinking about setting up a RO/DI system and would appreciate some sage advice from the experts on this forum, please:

I'd like to set-up my sump with a float valve for auto top offs and maintain a storage tank for water changes (I assume this is what everyone does). Do I need to just install a Y-valve on the filtered side to route water to either my sump or the storage tank?

Are there any distance concerns for running the "good" line from the filter to the sump? I will most likely mount the filter in the garage and my tank is on the other side of the house. Just wondering if the distance will be a problem.

The thought of using a saddle-valve to tap into a cold water line under pressure really doesn't thrill me. I'm planning on leaving the system on constantly, so hooking up to an outside hose bib isn't an option. What are some other creative options when a hose bib just isn't handy?

Any other words of wisdom would be appreciated.

Thanks,
David
__________________

__________________
Aw_Ref is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2005, 09:58 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Re: Setting up RO/DI system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aw_Ref
I'm thinking about setting up a RO/DI system and would appreciate some sage advice from the experts on this forum, please:
I'll get you started, but it will take more of a sage then I.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aw_Ref
I'd like to set-up my sump with a float valve for auto top offs and maintain a storage tank for water changes (I assume this is what everyone does). Do I need to just install a Y-valve on the filtered side to route water to either my sump or the storage tank?
I auto-topoff from my storage tank (which is 30 gallons or so). My RO/DI fills my storage tank and a Maxi-Jet pumps into my sump. You can see my documentation HERE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aw_Ref
Are there any distance concerns for running the "good" line from the filter to the sump? I will most likely mount the filter in the garage and my tank is on the other side of the house. Just wondering if the distance will be a problem.
You wouldn't really want any dead water sitting in the tube if you could help it, but if it's an auto-topoff it shouldn't really be a big deal. I run about 30' of tubing from the output to my storage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aw_Ref
The thought of using a saddle-valve to tap into a cold water line under pressure really doesn't thrill me. I'm planning on leaving the system on constantly, so hooking up to an outside hose bib isn't an option. What are some other creative options when a hose bib just isn't handy?
I'm connected to a Y-Valve on my slop sink in my laundry room by a threaded hose connection.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aw_Ref
Any other words of wisdom would be appreciated.

Thanks,
David
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 05:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 36
Thanks Bearfan. I don't have a slop sink plumbed, but can probably accomplish the same thing coming off of the cold water line for the washing machine. The big relief is that distance, within reason, shouldn't be a concern for running the lines.

I appreciate the input.
__________________
Aw_Ref is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 05:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
Liking the new avatar there bearfan!! ... although it's going to take some time to get used to seeing that vs. your old one!
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, setting up, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help setting up a saltwater system wilkersonc Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 19 08-11-2009 05:29 AM
Setting up a pressurized CO2 system - got lots of questions spilzer Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 30 08-06-2009 10:52 AM
Help setting up a CO2 system hulkamaniac Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 04-14-2007 08:50 PM
Setting up RO/DI system aquanaut Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-23-2005 10:48 PM
Eco-System 40 HOT System riptide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 11-23-2003 12:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.