Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-31-2011, 04:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
Chisel's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 367
How does the middle chamber (skimmer chamber) stay at a constant water level with those holes where the sponge is? Or does the water just evaporate from the right return chamber? I was looking at the diagrams where it shows the water flow for a berlin system and it shows the water level in the return chamber at the same height as everything else.


75g Reef.
Wet/dry converted into sump with a Bubble Magus NAC7 cone skimmer, MAG7 return, 200 micron filter socks, Vortech MP40w + two returns for flow. Current Sundial T5 + two retro Icecap T5's (6 bulbs),
Chisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:12 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
it wont.every part of that setup to the right of first section will act like the return section,the water level will keep changing due to evaporation and water top up,you can't put a skimmer in there at all.Unless the two holes are sealed at the bottom of the last seperator to force the water flow up and through the large hole.

Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:16 PM   #13
Community Admin
melosu58's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 37,891
Moved to General hardware and equipment discussion.
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:59 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
mr_X's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
agreed. i would seal up those holes with the arrows going through them, but it appears as though you'll have to shorten that entire wall a couple inches. how tall is that wall? can you cut it down to about 10" or so?

mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote

setting up, stand, sting, sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up sump questions? jphendren Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 01-29-2011 03:51 AM
Adding Kent Float Valve to sump from existing RO/DI line luckycat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-06-2006 11:17 PM
Setting up new sump gilraen General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-21-2005 12:08 PM
Setting up a sump? fishyfriends General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-29-2005 03:26 AM
Setting up a sump wahoo_drew Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-02-2004 12:02 AM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.