Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2011, 05:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chisel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 367
How does the middle chamber (skimmer chamber) stay at a constant water level with those holes where the sponge is? Or does the water just evaporate from the right return chamber? I was looking at the diagrams where it shows the water flow for a berlin system and it shows the water level in the return chamber at the same height as everything else.

__________________

__________________
75g Reef.
Wet/dry converted into sump with a Bubble Magus NAC7 cone skimmer, MAG7 return, 200 micron filter socks, Vortech MP40w + two returns for flow. Current Sundial T5 + two retro Icecap T5's (6 bulbs),
Chisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:12 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
it wont.every part of that setup to the right of first section will act like the return section,the water level will keep changing due to evaporation and water top up,you can't put a skimmer in there at all.Unless the two holes are sealed at the bottom of the last seperator to force the water flow up and through the large hole.
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:16 PM   #13
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:59 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
agreed. i would seal up those holes with the arrows going through them, but it appears as though you'll have to shorten that entire wall a couple inches. how tall is that wall? can you cut it down to about 10" or so?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setting up, stand, sting, sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up sump questions? jphendren Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 01-29-2011 04:51 AM
Adding Kent Float Valve to sump from existing RO/DI line luckycat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-07-2006 12:17 AM
Setting up new sump gilraen General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-21-2005 01:08 PM
Setting up a sump? fishyfriends General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-29-2005 04:26 AM
Setting up a sump wahoo_drew Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-02-2004 01:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.