Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2011, 10:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Setting up Sump on existing stand

Ok...I have a 90 gallon tank up and running with only chromis. The tank has a canister filter but I recently bought a sump to replace the canister. The problem is the stand has a center brace that is blocking the sump from fitting. Therefore, I am asking advice on how to move forward with the project. See pictures attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1039.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	199.4 KB
ID:	27308   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1035.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	202.4 KB
ID:	27309  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1037.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	201.9 KB
ID:	27310  
__________________

__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 11:43 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
If there's really on Chromis in there, and maybe a little bit of LR that I can see in the pic, consider getting some tubs to collect the water in and draining it. Getting rid of that water weight you can remove the center brace, install the sump, then put the brace back in.

It's really risky doing it any other way if there isn't a way to manipulate the sump into fitting through the door.

Can't see the construction inside the stand from the pics - is it possible to remove the side panel while still leaving the supports in place, or is the side panel part of the supprt?
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 12:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
take out the brace. you don't need it.
just put a 2x4 across the the top front of the stand, on the inside, on end, with 2x3 on either end as supports.
and that's if you are nervous.
i know a guy with a similar stand that removed his center brace on a 125 and didn't have any problems for 7 years., until he broke the tank down.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 09:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
I was planning to use 2 peices of 2x3 as support at both ends. The rmove about 50% of the water and the center brace.
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:47 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Just put in some blocks to hold up the weight while you take out the brace. Once you have the sump in place put the brace back and remove the blocks. But in all honesty you can do without the blocks. Take the brace out for two minutes while you put the sump in then put the brace back

Should be able to support it for a couple minutes without the brace. I have a similar stand that is what I did, if you look at the pics in my profile I have an almost identical set-up.
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:13 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
The sump is now in the stand
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20110131_091140.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	27655   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20110131_091153.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	27656  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20110131_091237.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	27657  
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:25 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chisel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by rncarter View Post
The sump is now in the stand

Good job. I already made another door on the side of my stand for when my sump is build. Never hurts to have a third door anyways. Which model Aqueon ProFlex is that? Even though i'm building my own, I am curious as to houw you make out with this. The removable wall to make it into a berlin system scares me a bit. How does it seal?? Do you HAVE to keep the sponge in there when in use?
__________________
75g Reef.
Wet/dry converted into sump with a Bubble Magus NAC7 cone skimmer, MAG7 return, 200 micron filter socks, Vortech MP40w + two returns for flow. Current Sundial T5 + two retro Icecap T5's (6 bulbs),
Chisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chisel

Good job. I already made another door on the side of my stand for when my sump is build. Never hurts to have a third door anyways. Which model Aqueon ProFlex is that? Even though i'm building my own, I am curious as to houw you make out with this. The removable wall to make it into a berlin system scares me a bit. How does it seal?? Do you HAVE to keep the sponge in there when in use?
I have the model 2 sump. It seals well but I have not remove the sponge yet because I am waiting to receive my new Skimmer this week and I am still doing to plumbing
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chisel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 367
What skimmer are you going with?
__________________
75g Reef.
Wet/dry converted into sump with a Bubble Magus NAC7 cone skimmer, MAG7 return, 200 micron filter socks, Vortech MP40w + two returns for flow. Current Sundial T5 + two retro Icecap T5's (6 bulbs),
Chisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chisel
What skimmer are you going with?
Reef octopus NWD 150
__________________

__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setting up, stand, sting, sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up sump questions? jphendren Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 01-29-2011 04:51 AM
Adding Kent Float Valve to sump from existing RO/DI line luckycat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-07-2006 12:17 AM
Setting up new sump gilraen General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-21-2005 01:08 PM
Setting up a sump? fishyfriends General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-29-2005 04:26 AM
Setting up a sump wahoo_drew Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-02-2004 01:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.