Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-15-2005, 08:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 26
Setting up used HOB filter

I've been away from the fish world a few years. I recently bought a used tank and TopFin 40 set up (see my previous post if you have advice on used tanks).

I cannot figure out if this filter is complete:
1. The impeller doesn't "snap" into the piece I think it should.
2. I've never used the kind of power source included, but I don't see how it would attach to the rest of the filter.

I've attached two photos of the pieces, arranged as I think they should go together. Let me know if the problem is me or the equipment (or both).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg used_topfin_40__1_.jpg (236.8 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg used_topfin_40__2_.jpg (154.8 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg used_topfin_40__1_.jpg (236.8 KB, 35 views)
__________________

__________________
pinstripe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 09:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 393
Send a message via AIM to Bhunsucker
Hi Pinstrip,
I had a TopFin 60 unitl today. I took it back to PetSmart and upgraded to the Aqua Clear 110 (500). I was worried that the TopFin would not support my biolgical needs. Anyway back to your question. The magnet goes into the powersupply with the impeller sticking up. After you get it put together put water in the unit in the sink and check for leaks before you attach it to the Aguarium. Good Luck and Welcome to AA.

Britt
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------
"Fly Low Avoid the Radar"

55Gal FW Aquarium
AquaClear 110/500 Filter

45gal Clarity Plus Aquarium
Wet/Dry DLS Aquatics Filteration System
Bhunsucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 09:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 26
Got it (and it works -- hooray!) Thanks for your help, I had it all backward.

Now, to clean it ...
__________________
pinstripe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, hob, hob filter, setting up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Advice... HOB Skimmer and HOB Filter ferchoz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-15-2009 04:35 PM
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
Changing filter media in HOB filter? SeeDemTails Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-13-2006 12:32 AM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
wet/dry filter vs penguin HOB filter SilviaGTO General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-19-2004 11:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.