Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-19-2005, 11:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 68
Setup sump now im nervouse if i loose suction on the overflo

I setup my sump today now looking at it what would happen if i loose suction in the sump im nervouse if i loose suction that id have a big flood from my sump pumping all the watter in the sump up to the tank and the tank overflowing what should i doo? any solution for right now ? anythign ? - nervouse
thanks!
-Ed
__________________

__________________
eddiedellz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 11:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Is this a HOB? and big enough to overflow your tank?
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 11:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 68
No its under the tank i would say its big enough to overflow the tank its a 20gal tank half full
__________________
eddiedellz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 11:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
raise your pump intake or lower the water level in your sump. My sump is attached to the overflow so I was lost for a minute.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 12:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 68
is it common for the overflows to loose suction?
__________________
eddiedellz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 09:33 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Granby, CT
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to FlyingL0
Im doing the same thing right now. What I have decided is to put a float valve in my sump upside down. If the water level drops to low in the sump it will kick off the return pump.
__________________
Crack is probablly less addictive than saltwater aquariums

47G Bow, 45# Live Rock, DSB, 10g Sump w/ LR Rubble, AquaC Remora Pro, 2 Maxijet 900(s), Clean Up Crew - (7) Scarlet Hermits, (2) Emerald Crab, (11) Turbo Snails, (3) Nassarius Snails, (1) Fighting Conch, (1) Sand Sifting Star, (1) Skunk Cleaner Shrimp

* (2) Yellow Tail Damsel
* (2) Percula Clow
FlyingL0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 10:10 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 219
I will be careful in using the float switch to turn on the pump. Is the relay in the float switch rated enough for the pump electrical wise??

You can try a check valve if you want, but invest in a good one.
__________________
180g In Wall starboard reef, 100g Sump, 2 Tunze 6100, BL70 Return Pump, MR-2 Skimmer, 80lbs LR.
Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 12:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
the best solution for an overflow using a U tube is using 2 U tubes....
I actually have dual overflows and both have 2 U tubes...I dont think it increases the flow but acts as a fail safe if a tube looses suction
the other thing to think about is if u loose power. since your return pump return pipe should be under water, if u loose power is will suck water back down into your sump...the solution to this is drill 2 holes in the return pipe jsut under the water level to break the suction there.
I like the though of the auto turn off of the pumps but the issue i see with that is if u dont have a auto top off and are away for a few days and ur water level goes down...ur pumps turn off just a side though
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 12:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 477
The easy solution (what I did) is just like Brenden said. Just raise the intake of the pump in the sump to an inch or two below the surface....that way if the overflow siphon breaks, your pump will pump that inch or two into your main, and then suck air. Better to lose a pump than to overflow the main onto your carpet. I did mine and I've tested it many a time.....works perfect.
__________________
Dr.Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 05:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
If you have U tubes, you have nothing to worry about *if* it is setup proper. You can of course test by turning off you return pump and then restarting it. The magic behind the U tube is simple. Once the water drops to a certain level, it no longer flows into the overflow box. This is turn causes the sending side of your overflow setup to stabilize as well. The water is in a state of equilibrium. Again testing should show if you are setup proper. Raising or lowering your over flow will raise or lower the level in your display tank. (It will also determine how high or low the water is in your sump) If you have it plumbed properly, you can get the same results by throttling back on your return pumps ball valve. Whatever the case may be, test it. I have a pair of U tubes (Yes it increases potential GPH) and I am about to add a 3rd as I have a dual overflow which can outrun the 2 U tubes. (Causes a nasty 'sucking' noise) As a result I have to throttle up the return pump (Via ball valve) to get the water flowing back to over come the overflow just enough to keep it quiet. That said, I have tested and have witnessed power outages many times and evrything works as designed. Gotchas would be anything you innocently stick in the tank that drains in to the sump as well. (I put a ph in the tank to feed my phosban reactor which emptied into my sump. When the power went out it still siphoned water, so becareful not to circumvent your failsafes! ; ) Also, make sure your resturns are drilled just below the water line to prevent back siphoning.

GL!
__________________

__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump setup.. h8z2luze Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-26-2009 05:39 AM
Filter suction cups not suction-cup-ing... bluerose Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-02-2009 06:20 PM
Tank/Sump Setup theotheragentm DIY Projects 7 02-05-2009 06:39 PM
2 Tank/2 Sump setup...Help Branew Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 01-22-2009 12:09 PM
Sump Setup David03 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-01-2005 03:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.