skimmer good or bad

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elke

Aquarium Advice Regular
i just bought a used protein skimmer and was wondering if it is good or bad of what i know it is a aquatic ecosystems inc brand it is 23in tall with a rio2500hp pump vernturi driven person said it was rated up to a 300g tank he had it on a 250g so if anyone knows anything about this skimmer please inform me of what you think

Aquatic ecosystems have some nice equipment but I have no experience with any of their skimmers. Sounds simular to the seaclone. If it is, it will probably need some tweeking (with the venturi) and playing with to get to work efficiently. That in no way means it's a bad skimmer. A pic would help.

here's your pics you asked for this is three hours later from putting it in my sump

Attachments

• picture034.jpg
    picture034.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 55
  • picture035.jpg
    picture035.jpg
    54.5 KB · Views: 54
  • picture036.jpg
    picture036.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 66
From those pics...I would say that the skimmer's working fine...I can't tell the size of the skimate collecton cup on the top of it..Elke..how many inches wide is it and how often do you have to empty it?

I agree it looks like it's working well. You should be seeing a brown sludge collect in the collection cup.

If it is, it will probably need some tweeking (with the venturi) and playing with to get to work efficiently. That in no way means it's a bad skimmer. A pic would help.

fluff wrote about tweeking there as in how or what am i looking to do seems that it is not makeing as much as it was in the first 3 hours of those pics so what and ow do you tweek this thing hahahaha tweeking i feel like tim allen i need mo power :lol:

Having no experience with this particular skimmer, I would give a few weeks to break in before tweeking.