Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-27-2007, 03:32 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
That's good point! This is why it is good to have more people responding to posts. Different view points gets the problems solved....

As for adjusting the skimmer doesn't that have a riser pipe (the outflow) I believe that is how it is adjusted, from what I just looked at it looks ot have a dial on top of the riser. I would guess that is your adjustment..
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:56 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The red knob adjusts your skimmer flow and you should have a venturi adjustment also to reduce bubbles (if needed). Is your skimmate in the collection cup wet or more of a dry foam?

__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:57 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: north fort myers florida
Posts: 82
on top of the skimmer is a red knob that when you turn it the water level in the skimmer goes up and down.as of now I have the water level in the skimmer just below the skimmer box.not sure if that is correct or not but that is what I have been told
__________________
mountaindew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:59 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Yea, as tec said, how is your skimmate? Watery or thick foam?
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 04:00 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Just below the collection cup? That's too high IMO for your skimmer to function correctly. You don't want your water higher than the exit on the skimmer.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 04:00 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: north fort myers florida
Posts: 82
I have more of a wet foam.not sure where the venturi adjustment is but that is the skimmer I have
__________________
mountaindew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 04:17 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The venturi adjustment would be on the airline hooked up to your pump which mixes the bubbles with the flow.

As a general rule it's better to draw darker, dense skimmate rather than wet IMO.

Closing off the knob slightly will make the foam climb higher and dryer. If this halts skimmate production instead of drying it out (darker skimmate) you may need to increase air and/or decrease bubble size as well. If that also does not work, then the problem may be design related (neck too wide for action relative to the air and water volume running through the unit).

What pump is powering the skimmer?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 04:26 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: north fort myers florida
Posts: 82
the pump from the overflow box to the skimmer is the CA 1800.The pump from the clean water back up to the tank is a CA 2200.as for the answer for the venturi adjustment the only airlines on the skimmer are the ones in the picture above.there is no airline into the pump if that is what you meant
__________________
mountaindew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 05:03 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The CA 1800 has 3 inputs for venturi and you hook up the air hose to the pump.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 05:09 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
After looking that over...thats a pretty bad design. But it looks like a few mods could get it workin good.
__________________

__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
skimmer for canister cabezon DIY Projects 1 12-08-2009 06:40 PM
Protein skimmer to a canister filter? Dikiibill General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 11-20-2009 11:10 AM
Skimmer instead of Canister Filter? gimincorp Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-19-2008 02:37 PM
Three Canister Filters for Good Skimmer noteworthy Archive 4 05-01-2006 11:37 PM
Canister Filter for Skimmer noteworthy Archive 1 01-11-2006 09:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.