Small tank advice--for a scape & betta keeping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

danolunchbox

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all, I am a newbie at this and I'm interested in getting into keeping an aquarium and aquascaping. I currently have a betta in a small bowl and want to upgrade him into the nice aquarium he deserves! Here's what I am looking to do--I need all the advice I can get!

Looking to go for a 3-8 gallon tank--any suggestions? I've seen a lot of the all-in one's (like the marineland eclipse series and some glass tanks at marinedepot.com like mr aqua, or ada garden mini cube)...not sure what's the best to get? An all-in-one kit or building one from scratch?

If I build from scratch what are the best filters for bettas/keeping live plants?

Lighting?

I'll start there--any advice would be much appreciated!

Welcome Aboard!

I have my betta in the Fluval EBI kit, or check out the Fluval Flora kit. Either one would be a great kit choice, good looking with front rounded corners and other than adding a heater (Aqueon Pro 50w), it's ready to go. A 5*, 8g kit IMO/E.

Fluval systems...

Thanks for the advice!

I was looking into the Fluval systems--they seem pretty nice--and I like that everything is included.

How is the filter? Is the current too powerful for the betta? What do you think about getting the Fluval flora kit and having plants and a betta in it?

Thanks for the advice!

I was looking into the Fluval systems--they seem pretty nice--and I like that everything is included.

How is the filter? Is the current too powerful for the betta? What do you think about getting the Fluval flora kit and having plants and a betta in it?