Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-02-2018, 01:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
frogdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Posts: 2
Some Electrical Questions

Good morning from foggy Vancouver Island:

I have a few electrical questions. I wasn't sure where to ask them, so I'll try here. This is my first question, so please be gentle.

I'm planning a first SW reef set up. I have a lot of experience with FW, but zero with SW. So, I'm reading and trying to understand as much as possible before starting to spend $$$$$$.

#1 Do I need a subpanel for this performance? I already have a subpanel for my woodshop in the garage. Is it possible to wire/switch it over for the aquarium stuff?

I haven't added up all the amps, but just intuitively, I get the feeling that this is not going to fly on one or even 2 circuits.

Let's see for the sake of discussion, this is what I have in mind:
For 80G DT:
2 heaters
X powerheads
Lights
occasional canister for polishing

50G Sump:
Light (so I can see to work)
Pump
Heater
Protein skimmer

50G Upstream refugium:
Heater
Light
1 powerhead

30G QT:
light
heater
HOB filter
UV sterilizer
powerhead

and whatever else I'm forgetting.

#2 What do I have to do aside from GFIs to guarantee I don't electrocute myself or my tank inhabitants? What do I need?

Thank you very much for any and all replies.
Cynthia
__________________

__________________
frogdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 02:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 11,835
Where is your "tank" room?

Are all the tanks in the same room or in different rooms? Is it near the garage panel? And is there room in the garage panel to a new run for the tanks?

I have a bunch of stuff all on a 15 amp and haven't had any issues.

Some people like to set up a battery back up too for an expensive SW system.
__________________

__________________

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/

Community Rules
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...ork&page=rules

FW & SW
Favorite tank right now -5G Spec V Snails & Betta
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 10:40 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
obiwan1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by frogdog View Post
Good morning from foggy Vancouver Island:

I have a few electrical questions. I wasn't sure where to ask them, so I'll try here. This is my first question, so please be gentle.

I'm planning a first SW reef set up. I have a lot of experience with FW, but zero with SW. So, I'm reading and trying to understand as much as possible before starting to spend $$$$$$.

#1 Do I need a subpanel for this performance? I already have a subpanel for my woodshop in the garage. Is it possible to wire/switch it over for the aquarium stuff?

I haven't added up all the amps, but just intuitively, I get the feeling that this is not going to fly on one or even 2 circuits.

Let's see for the sake of discussion, this is what I have in mind:
For 80G DT:
2 heaters
X powerheads
Lights
occasional canister for polishing

50G Sump:
Light (so I can see to work)
Pump
Heater
Protein skimmer

50G Upstream refugium:
Heater
Light
1 powerhead

30G QT:
light
heater
HOB filter
UV sterilizer
powerhead

and whatever else I'm forgetting.

#2 What do I have to do aside from GFIs to guarantee I don't electrocute myself or my tank inhabitants? What do I need?

Thank you very much for any and all replies.
Cynthia
Hello. I don't know SW but I know a bit about electricity. If everything you listed is in one room that's a lot of power draw for one circuit. You have to remember all the electric receptacles in a room will be on one circuit breaker. I also don't know how old your house is but older homes tend to have multiple rooms on one circuit breaker. So your fish tank equipment won't be the only things drawing power from that circuit. As for switching the receptacles over to that sub panel that's something only a qualified licensed electrician will be able to tell when he looks at your home. It all depends on how your house was wired. And ANYTHING can be done in a house for the right amount of $$$$
__________________
obiwan1968 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, question, questions

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about electrical plugs. William Aquaria Off-Topic 9 08-16-2004 01:52 PM
Electrical Planning OneBowl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 07-01-2004 09:53 AM
Electrical Safety? Is it really so important? uncwalley Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-14-2004 03:46 PM
An Electrical Question Gauge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 01-28-2004 12:54 AM
Another electrical question c-bass Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 08-27-2003 09:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.