Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-07-2013, 06:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Sponge Filter Question

I have shown sponge filters in both my 55L and 60L tanks. They are fantastic and my water is always crystal clear and tests pristine.

They do seem to miss small bits of debris that settle into the gravel substrate. I have tried vacuuming the up, but they are just too small to get with a hand pumped vacuum.

Should I invest in a better vacuum or can I get/make a sponge with finer holes for my filter?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Thranta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Foxtrot90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 85
Sponge filters, no matter how big, are not very powerful when it comes to actually removing debris from your tank. A sponge filters primary purpose is biological filtration, and they are pretty good at that. Sponge filters are slow and gentle, which is why most people use them in hospital, fry, and even shrimp tanks.

So even if you did get a sponge with finer holes it still might not be able to pick all that stuff up simply due to that lack of suction power.

I would just go with a regular gravity type of vacuum. Just some simple tubing
__________________

__________________
Foxtrot90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thranta View Post
I have shown sponge filters in both my 55L and 60L tanks. They are fantastic and my water is always crystal clear and tests pristine.

They do seem to miss small bits of debris that settle into the gravel substrate. I have tried vacuuming the up, but they are just too small to get with a hand pumped vacuum.

Should I invest in a better vacuum or can I get/make a sponge with finer holes for my filter?

Thanks!
Do you run your sponge filter with an air pump or power head?
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 36
The sponge filter pulls air in from overhead on its own, but I also run an airpump that distributes air through a six inch airstone.
__________________
Thranta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:13 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thranta View Post
The sponge filter pulls air in from overhead on its own, but I also run an airpump that distributes air through a six inch airstone.
Oh. I've never seen one of those!
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, question, sponge, sponge filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.