Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-05-2006, 06:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: st.louis mo
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via MSN to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via Yahoo to ttopmustanggt88
standpipe question

anyone ever use a durso stand pipe without an overflow box??
__________________

__________________
ttopmustanggt88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 06:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: st.louis mo
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via MSN to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via Yahoo to ttopmustanggt88
stand pipe question?

anyone ever use a durso stand pipe without an overflow box??
__________________

__________________
ttopmustanggt88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 07:35 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I had a 72 bow that was drilled and did not have an overflow box. I used something similar to Durso standpipes on the outside of the tank as part of the drain that ran to the sump.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 01:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
It can also be used straight in a drilled aquarium, but it won't surface skim without an overflow box.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 08:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: st.louis mo
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via MSN to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via Yahoo to ttopmustanggt88
sweet are there any tricks to running the durso intakes that the durso website doesnt mention. i still dont understang how it will let water fall but if it does it without all the noise then the more power to it.
__________________
ttopmustanggt88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 08:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: st.louis mo
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via MSN to ttopmustanggt88 Send a message via Yahoo to ttopmustanggt88
thats how im going to do it and ill get some surface agitation with the return and a few powerheads. not as worried about it since its gonna be in fresh water.
__________________
ttopmustanggt88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 09:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Merged topics.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:07 PM   #8
Avi
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 105
I actually was told by Durso to use the Stockman modification that you can find at the Durso website for hand-on overflows, rather than the Durso standpipe. I used the Stockmans on mine and they really worked perfectly.
__________________

__________________
Something's gotta go wrong cause I'm feeling way too **** good.
Avi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for standpipe part... deanp88 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 12-14-2009 10:49 PM
Stockman Standpipe xxnonamexx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-30-2006 01:37 PM
durso standpipe? ttopmustanggt88 DIY Projects 1 03-30-2006 09:48 AM
Standpipe users... help? Gatorfreak Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 10-13-2004 01:04 PM
Standpipe sizing indy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-02-2004 06:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.