Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-05-2004, 06:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via MSN to i2ik
starting a 20G...

Hey everyone
I am a noob and there is a few things that i would like to know ...

I wonder which one is better: a 20 gallons long or simply a 20 gallons. does it have a difference for the fishes? more place in a long?

I am having an aquaclear 300. Is it good enough or should i get an external one? like ehiem...

My heater is 50 watts and can keep up to 27 degrees celcius... it is enough or should i get a 100 watts?

For the protein skimmer, which one should i buy? will it be better if i put a strong one? will it change something? waht is the purpose of a protein skimmer anyways..?

For the lights, i have a single one so i will buy one with 2 lights (fluorescent, 1 white light, the other will be blue) will it be enough? it will cost me 120 CAN, but there is only the light and no canopy...

How many fishes can i get in a 20 gallons tank?
what is the best reef packages that i should get? is it expensive?

alright thats all... thanks a lot, i know, my questions might sound stupid but its ok

Old 04-05-2004, 07:06 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Quote:
I wonder which one is better: a 20 gallons long or simply a 20 gallons. does it have a difference for the fishes? more place in a long?
IMO, a 20L is better than a 20T, simply because there is more surface area. More surface area means there is more usable space for the fish to swim, better gas exchange etc..