Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-11-2013, 11:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 234
Strainer on Durso

I recently built two 1 1/4" durso standpipes for a 150 gallon Fowler. I currently do not have any strainers on the intakes. Are they really necessary?
__________________

__________________
Jasonrusso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:39 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Depends on the size of your fish

My fish are to big to get sucked in but if you have smaller fish I would add them or your fish will start to go missing and you may need to hook them out of your sump and put them back in the main tank
__________________

__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 234
I do have "teeth" at the top of the overflow box. I think my fish are too big to fit between the top of the box and the top of the tank.
__________________
Jasonrusso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
strain

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.