Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-18-2012, 02:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Stupid air pump question

I have a Top Fin Air4000 air pump with dual ports. If I cover or block one of the ports, I notice no noticeable difference in output. This leads me to believe it is dual diaphragm, but I have not been able to verify this searching online.

What I want to know, if I were to take a T or Y connector, connected to both ports, and run my air hose on this (meaning my air hose is receiving the full output of both ports combined) would I get more output in my tank? Or am I looking at this the wrong way? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Kallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:35 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Watervliet, NY
Posts: 150
That would put strain on the pump, however there should be more output if you plug one and there isn't more output on the other. Easy way to test is with a y and airstones. More bubbles, more output.
__________________

__________________
MaiTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:00 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaiTank View Post
That would put strain on the pump, however there should be more output if you plug one and there isn't more output on the other. Easy way to test is with a y and airstones. More bubbles, more output.
Sorry, but I don't totally understand your post. You said I shouldn't connect them because too much strain, but the. Said I should test it with the Y connector.

How would connecting the two sides together cause excess strain on the pump?
__________________
Kallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Watervliet, NY
Posts: 150
One pushing on the other, however if you wanted to do it anyway you could try the y connector
__________________
MaiTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 02:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 30
I use a y piece on my pump to join two outputs and yes it does increase the airflow!
I've had mine running like this for sometime and it has no affect on the running!
__________________
Wayne78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rlavassor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kallen
I have a Top Fin Air4000 air pump with dual ports. If I cover or block one of the ports, I notice no noticeable difference in output. This leads me to believe it is dual diaphragm, but I have not been able to verify this searching online.

What I want to know, if I were to take a T or Y connector, connected to both ports, and run my air hose on this (meaning my air hose is receiving the full output of both ports combined) would I get more output in my tank? Or am I looking at this the wrong way? Thanks!
I have had my 125 running with 3 seperate air pumps( I got them free do I just combined them for the output I want instead if buying one bug one. Anyways I have a junction box that all pumps run into and has adjustable valves. All my pumps have 2 diaphragms and I use a t on on the output the run that single line to my junction. Been this way for about 10 years now and have only had 1 pump blow the diaphragms and after inspection it was due to them just being old and brittle. Replaced the diaphragms and good as new now.
__________________
Rlavassor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rlavassor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 642
If your worried about them fighting each other though a very simple way to fix that is to buy two simple check valves that will only allow flow of air one way and put one on each tube just before the t connector

Very inexpensive from any LFS. I'll post a pic so you know what to look for if you decide to use them. Also very handy incase you lose power it will prevent water siphoning into your pump and ruining it
Attached Images
 
__________________
Rlavassor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:17 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Watervliet, NY
Posts: 150
Very good advice, check valves would work well.
__________________
MaiTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:36 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks for all the info! I went to the store with the intention of getting a Y, but discovered that 8' of the tubing was actually cheaper than the connector. So I instead went that route. Drained some water into my change bucket and ran a second line. This fixed the air problem. In fact, I had to dial down the pump because there was too much! Nice problem to have...
__________________
Kallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:25 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Watervliet, NY
Posts: 150
Great news
__________________

__________________
MaiTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air pump, pump, question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.