Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-22-2014, 12:28 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
It absolutely uses more water up. No doubt about it. For me, the nominal increase in my water bill is well worth the convenience of being able to drain and vacuum straight down the drain all at once and then refill with the same hose.

Understand 100% but allow me to expand just a tad. I have the Aqueon (almost the same thing &#128540 and I keep that connected to a dedicated sink for fill-ups only. It has 40' of hose. I have a 1000L/hr pump that goes in the tank and the window is about 4-1/2 to 5' away. The pump drains to outside off the roof, 50% of a 55g tank in about 3 minutes. I do this 3 times each week (I have 5 Discus in it) and 100% on Sundays. While I'm doing the 100% on Sundays, I can supply clean (same temp) water at the same time. The longest part of my WC is the refill of about 12-14 minutes for the refill on a 100% day.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium advice.
__________________

__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:06 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
I don't know about the OP, but recall there are many people who do not want to use tap water directly. Either at all (because they chose RODI), or directly (because they don't trust the "add water and hope the dechlorinator is fast enough) or because they want a more careful temperature match.

And some (marine) have to pre-mix salt [notice this is not a freshwater only forum].

For those it means buckets of mixed water need to be transferred into a tank. Pouring is almost impossible from a full 5G bucket, at least without washing away the interior of the tank. Siphoning means lifting the bucket to a stand 5-8' high; risky and hard. And a python is useless for this purpose.

A small pond pump can make an ideal solution for those who are refilling their tanks with buckets.

Honestly what some vendor should do is integrate a water change system in with the canister filters, a properly plumbed and valved way to use that pump to empty as well as refill. $5 more in parts (at OEM costs) and you could have a dynamite system all ready to go for those with buckets.
__________________

__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:19 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linwood View Post
I don't know about the OP, but recall there are many people who do not want to use tap water directly. Either at all (because they chose RODI), or directly (because they don't trust the "add water and hope the dechlorinator is fast enough) or because they want a more careful temperature match.

And some (marine) have to pre-mix salt [notice this is not a freshwater only forum].

For those it means buckets of mixed water need to be transferred into a tank. Pouring is almost impossible from a full 5G bucket, at least without washing away the interior of the tank. Siphoning means lifting the bucket to a stand 5-8' high; risky and hard. And a python is useless for this purpose.

A small pond pump can make an ideal solution for those who are refilling their tanks with buckets.

Honestly what some vendor should do is integrate a water change system in with the canister filters, a properly plumbed and valved way to use that pump to empty as well as refill. $5 more in parts (at OEM costs) and you could have a dynamite system all ready to go for those with buckets.
Good idea linwood! Maybe ill hook my water change barrel up to the canister I just ordered

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:26 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
Good idea linwood! Maybe ill hook my water change barrel up to the canister I just ordered
I almost tried this. I have three canisters on a big tank, and even siphoning it out is slow. The problem is that doing it after the fact means adding T's and valves on both the intake and output of the pump. Worse, you need two intake T's probably, if you want to both vacuum and also take most of the water from the intake (in my 220G I vacuum for about 5 minutes, then the other 20 minutes is just waiting for the water level to go down). Plus done right you want the vacuum side not to go through the filter media, so you need an internal diverter.

But I suspect it is possible. And I really do think there's a potential market. Imagine, you can also sell not just the base unit, but add-on attachments. Just like vacuum cleaner manufacturers. Substrate vacuums, combo glass-scraper and vacuums... a whole product line awaits development.
__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:59 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1413985885.099694.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	237.4 KB
ID:	253695

My fill hose and drain hose.


Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1413985908.425225.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	271.1 KB
ID:	253697

I use an azoo 1800 (cheap) to drain my tanks. The python hose fits perfectly on the nozzle.

It's HUGELY advantageous to have 2 separate hoses for water changes - has cut the time it takes by 75% compared to a single python.

Tons and tons of people (everyone who uses a water changer) refill their tanks directly from the faucet without any issues whatsoever. People are certainly free to be as cautious as they like though.
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 12:53 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
The boring name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: charlotte NC
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linwood View Post
I went to a Northern Tool and found a pond pump, and use it to both stir RODI water when I add minerals to it (just drop it in the bucket), and then to pump it up to the display tank.

Only problem is the nice small $10 ones often have a low head pressure, i.e. they won't pump more than 4-6' high. Check that first. But they have cheap ones. Similar on Amazon, etc. Look for "pond pump".

Here's the one I used: here

On a larger tank that I needed about 8' of head and more volume I actually used an old boat bilge pump. It's 12V so you need an adapter (though if you have DIY LED's you may already have one), but the are waterproof, designed to not be damaged by running dry (at least briefly), have a decent but not huge flow rate, and often you can find them used cheap/free.


Thanks. This is exactly what I wanted. 1 question what size diameter house should I get to you with this.
__________________
The boring name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 12:56 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by The boring name View Post
Thanks. This is exactly what I wanted. 1 question what size diameter house should I get to you with this.
Mine is half inch, but if I recall the pump comes with replaceable nozzles. Just buy the pump first, the box will say.

Ace Hardware is one of many sites that sell vinyl by the foot, by the way; the big box stores mostly do not, only in pre-packaged rolls. You don't want it too long as when you are done you'll want to hold the end up high and let the residual water drain back into the bucket; hard to do with a coil on the floor.

One thing I've found handy is a outlet strip with a switch. I often need more cord anyway, and the switch lets me turn the pump on or off with my toe once I am holding the tube in the right place, pump in the bucket, etc.
__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 01:05 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CoronaBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Idaho
Posts: 402
Nice read, my tanks are about 50 feet from my nearest sink. I just recently put together a DIY Python and used a Blue Magic faucet adapter. It drains really slow and fills even slower. I used it once and stopped because I felt I was wasting way too much water. I need to find a better way to WC as winter approaches. Might look into the pump option
__________________
CoronaBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 02:34 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 537
For draining my 220, I just use a garden hose. Stick one end in and tie it to something, go out and give a good inhale, enough to get it over the hump of the side, and the rest is all done by gravity. It still takes maybe 15-20 minutes to take 70 gallons out (about normal WC), but it's much faster than buckets. The more drop you can get on the far end the faster it goes. And it has plenty of suction for vacuuming (first time I did it, I rigged an adapter to an actual aquarium vacuum tube, but I found the end of the hose is adequate for what I do, which is mostly cleaning up piles of detritus not trying to sift sand).

PS. An advantage of a good long run, and decent drop, is you can lift the end out and quickly put it back, and it still keeps going -- a few feet of air is just carried along. So doing more than one tank, if you move fast between, would not require restarting.
__________________
Linwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 08:57 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqua_holic View Post
Tons and tons of people (everyone who uses a water changer) refill their tanks directly from the faucet without any issues whatsoever. People are certainly free to be as cautious as they like though.
I have killed fish accidentally when refilling a 50% water change on a 30 gallon tank with 30 gallons worth of Seachem prime already in the tank and the faucet cranked wide open. Now I slow down the faucet flow rate to 25% and everything is fine.

The problem is that aggressive or curious fish will put their face on the end of the hose for a few minutes and by the time they start to feel drowsy it is too late and they are as good as dead.
__________________

__________________
mattcham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, pump, submersible, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendation for a 550-600 GPH Submersible Water Pump Labenator65000 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 06-11-2012 05:38 PM
Submersible Pump or an External Pump???????? BigDog54 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-10-2005 05:02 AM
Favorite submersible pump brands Apocalypse_Gold General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-16-2005 03:53 AM
submersible water pump for water changes dax29 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 03-31-2005 06:14 AM
submersible pump hockeydude15 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-25-2004 10:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.