Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-25-2013, 06:54 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
For T5 lights I would prefer using the cheap rotary timers available at Home Depot. One for each so you need 3 to stagger your settings. The problem with digital timers is that the time resets to default and your settings are lost whenever there is a momentary power interruption.
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:17 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JsQuid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 255
So I would need 3 timers? There are only 2 plugs, they control the 4 bulbs. That's my issue.
__________________

__________________
JsQuid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:39 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Just 2 total timers. One for each plug.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:41 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JsQuid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 255
But how will that control the 3 different times? I'm sorry. I'm just so confused.
__________________
JsQuid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:17 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by JsQuid View Post
So I would need 3 timers? There are only 2 plugs, they control the 4 bulbs. That's my issue.
First you mentioned your T5 fixture has 3 plugs. Now you say you only have 2. If you are confused , then you make every else confused too lol.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:19 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JsQuid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 255
It has 3 total, but I'm only interested in using two. That's why I said White + White, and Blue + White. Those are the two plugs I'm interested in getting to function. The 3rd plug is for led moonlights, but I'm not going to pay more just for them. Sorry for the confusion!
__________________
JsQuid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:40 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Then you only need 2 timers but later on I'm sure you will change your mind and realize you need the moonlit led. The rotary timer has multiple ON & OFF so you have a lot of choices.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:41 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JsQuid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 255
Yeah I do enjoy watching the tank with the moonlight. It's just I'm trying to establish the light situation now because I'm leaving for 7 days during Christmas.
__________________
JsQuid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:33 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Spechty37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 487
I have the coralife I think it was 40 bucks it's not the digital but it work fine blues come on first then whites then back to blues then LEDs it's one of the doubles with a timer at both ends
__________________
Spechty37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:35 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JsQuid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 255
This is the one I purchased, I feel as though it should work the way I want. But I can't get it to!

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1943115023.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	138.5 KB
ID:	209270
__________________

__________________
JsQuid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken light timer Luananeko Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 05-14-2012 04:57 PM
Light timer compatible with solarmax lights Mikezilla89 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-29-2011 01:40 PM
coralLife Digital timer ShooterRick General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-24-2011 05:44 PM
Timer Brandon K.A Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-09-2011 05:54 AM
Best Timer? fishfanatic General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-05-2011 12:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.