SUMP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AaronH

Aquarium Advice Activist
ok so i am new to marine and havenot built my set up yet and am looking for some help. i have a juewl rio 125 that is currently a cichlid tank. i am planning on the big conversion hopefully some time after xmas. i would like to build a reef tank planning on soft corals a few fish and i like inverts so prob a large clean up crew mainly crabs and snails and one cleaner shrimp. i am also planning on anemones (i love them).... anyways i would like to build a custom sump to go under the cupboard (530mm wide x 260mm deep x 500mm heigh) height is flexible that is the internal dimensions of the cupboard and the space i have to play with i put the maximum height at 500mm as that alows alot of room above that for removal protien skimmer cup or to run pipes etc. i have not chosen any equipment yet except for the external filter and heater because i allready have them running. i would like the sump to be big enough of a place to drain out enough water for a weekley water change and a place to add any chemicals i am planning on haveing the whole back wall of the display tank covered in live rock as much as i can before it either comes out the water or hits an overflow etc (whch is why i wana drain water from the sump and not the main tank during a water change) so i am not to bothered about filtration with that much live rock and an external filter. i am planning on byeing an ro filter aswell so i dont have to go to te shop all the time but this will be plumbed in in the garage away from the tank as there is no room. i will also have a bucket in the garage with a heater and a powerhead in as a place to mix water befor a water change. i am a carpenter by trade so i am not affraid to build things from scratch and have prob got all the tols required. when it comes to geeting the gla