Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2007, 03:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
SUMP

im thinking of getting a sump to get the skimmers, heater, canister filters, & oxygen pump out of view but dont know what type to get... my tank is 75 gal. & its not drilled... can anybody help me?.. thanks
__________________

__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 08:48 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 08:52 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You`ll need to get a HOB overflow and put a 20 or 29 gallon tank under your tank in the stand. You`ll also need a pump to return the water back up to the main. Do a search on this site on sumps and you should get some good DIY ideas.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 03:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
ah... found it... thanks.. im afraid to do DIY because of possibility of a flood
__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 08:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
so what happens when they return pump is stronger or weaker than the overflow?... isn't it almost impossible to have it matched of same gph?
__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
If the pump is stronger use a valve on the pump output to reduce the flow back into the tank. If the pump is weaker then there is no problem.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
but wouldn't the sump overflow if its stronger?.. also how do u use the valve to make the return pump weaker.. TIA
__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3epanda
so what happens when they return pump is stronger or weaker than the overflow?... isn't it almost impossible to have it matched of same gph?
I ran a pipe from the return line back into the sump in case the pump was stronger was too powerful. This way I can control the flow back into the main without harming the pump.
__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
so how does that work?... wouldnt most of water just go back?.... and it would harm the pump if it ran out of water to quick?... sorry for too much questions
__________________

__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:25 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
The output from the pump is what causes the water to overflow. The overflow box will stop if the pump stops flowing thus stopping the sump from overflowing.

http://saltaquarium.about.com/gi/dyn.../overflow.html

Check this site.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.